Skip to Main Content

ANAT 106 & 107: Anatomy and Physiology for Allied Health I & II

Instructor: Dr. Kristine Kraft

DISEASES AND CONDITIONS

Describe the anatomy of the organ system involved (e.g., endocrine, renal), tissue, or cell structure in disease states, both for normal and pathological anatomy.
(1) Try searching the following selected book(s) for more details:
(2) If more information is needed, use the search tactics on the MeSH database below.
PubMed's MeSH Database - Can be used to find research articles on different aspects of the disease
1. Go to the MeSH Database at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/
2. Type the name of the disease or condition on the search box. Then, click the Search button.
3. Look for the name of the disease. If available, then, click on the hyperlink.
4. The MeSH record will include selected subheadings (or specific aspects of the disease such as therapy, economics, etc.). Look for subheading(s) that appear appropriate for your search (e.g., economics, psychology, epidemiology, and others) to help you address requirements for the class presentation.
Highly recommended: Click on the Subheadings to read descriptions of the subheadings. Also, mark the boxes next to the Restrict to MeSH Major Topic box.
5. After marking the boxes next to the subheadings you want, click on the Add to search builder button.
6. Click on Search PubMed to run the search.
8. To narrow your search further, consider limiting to English language and Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analysis, or/and guidelines.
(3) Also, consider searching other medical databases for relevant articles:
Prognosis (outlook): "A prediction of the probable outcome of a disease based on a individual's condition and the usual course of the disease as seen in similar situations." PubMed's Clinical Queries
1. Go to PubMed's Clinical Queries at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/clinical/
2. Type the name of the disease/condition on the search box. Then, click on the Search button.
MedGen (from NIH/NLM):
Provides genetic disease information including links to research articles on etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis, clinical prediction guides, systematic reviews including available genetic tests in NIH’s Genetic Testing Registry (GTR) and information about relevant disease-associated genes.
1. Go to MedGen at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/medgen
2. Type the name of the disease/condition and run the search on MedGen portal.
3. Look for the name of the disease then, click on the hyperlink.
4. Scroll down to the section on "Prognosis" to find articles.

MedGen (NCBI database):
Provides genetic disease information including research articles on etiology, diagnosis, therapy, prognosis, clinical prediction guides, and systematic reviews.

1. Go to MedGen at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/medgen
2. Type the name of the disease/condition and run the search on MedGen.
3. Look for the name of the disease and click on the hyperlink.
4. Scroll down to the section on "Therapy" to find articles.

Finding Guidelines:
“Clinical practice guidelines are systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.” (Institute of Medicine, 1990)
Search for the most current guidelines, if possible. The following professional websites are excellent starting points (see hyperlinks below).
1. On the website search box, type ( "clinical practice guidelines" OR "practice guidelines" OR guidelines) AND name of the disease or broader disease term here
2. Run the search and look for the guidelines that pertain to the disease/condition, when available.

Systematic reviews and meta-analysis are based on the findings of multiple studies.

Ethics: "Used with techniques and activities for discussion and analysis with respect to human and social values."

PubMed's MeSH Database - Can be used to find research articles on different aspects of the disease
1. Go to the MeSH Database at: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/
2. Type the name of the disease or condition on the search box. Then, click the Search button.
3. Look for the name of the disease. If available, then, click on the hyperlink.
4. The MeSH record will include selected subheadings (or specific aspects of the disease such as therapy, economics, etc.). Look for subheading(s) that appear appropriate for your search (e.g., economics, psychology, epidemiology, and others) to help you address requirements for the class presentation.
Highly recommended: Click on the Subheadings to read descriptions of the subheadings. Also, mark the boxes next to the Restrict to MeSH Major Topic box.
5. After marking the boxes next to the subheadings you want, click on the Add to search builder button.
6. Click on Search PubMed to run the search. See illustration below.
8. To narrow your search further, consider limiting to English language and Systematic Reviews, Meta-Analysis, or/and guidelines.

DISEASE-SPECIFIC and OVERVIEWS from Websites and Databases

Begin your search for disease overviews on the following quality sources below.
General:
Specialized:

DISEASE OVERVIEWS from Books and eBooks (Examples)