LibGuides: Expert Evidence: Federal Rules of Evidence Generally

Treatises about the FRE

Evidence in a Nutshell by Paul Rothstein; David Crump; Ronald Coleman
ISBN: 9781647085681
Publication Date: 2021-11-08
The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.
Evidence Law, a Student's Guide to the Law of Evidence As Applied in American Trials by Roger Park; Aviva Orenstein; Dale A. Nance
ISBN: 9781636591261
Publication Date: 2022-03-16
In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.
Federal Rules of Evidence in a Nutshell by Michael Graham
ISBN: 1684676851
Publication Date: 2020-10-22
The Nutshell, reflecting the Federal Rules of Evidence as restyled and amended up to and including December 1, 2020, contains a crisp, clear, concise, and complete explanation of each Federal Rule of Evidence designed to prepare every student for the course final, the multistate bar examination, and most significantly a successful litigation practice career. The United States Supreme Court's controversial testimonial/nontestimonial interpretation of the Confrontation Clause developed in Crawford and progeny is thoroughly analyzed as well. With respect to the definition of hearsay, the not hearsay definition, the most commonly encountered hearsay exceptions, expert witnesses, and character evidence even more exhaustive treatment is provided. Concrete illustrations are presented throughout.
Evidence Law by Leonard M. Niehoff
ISBN: 1634602986
Publication Date: 2016-10-06
This book offers a highly readable and engaging overview of the theory and principles of evidence. An opening chapter offers a broad conceptual framework for understanding evidence. This framework is then used throughout the text to help the reader achieve a firm grasp of the essentials: relevance, character, hearsay, impeachment, opinion, privileges, and non-conventional forms of evidence. The book also includes an appendix that explains the mechanics of finding, offering, and objecting to evidence. The author has drawn on his thirty years of experience as an evidence professor and a practicing litigator to provide the reader with a solid understanding of what the evidence rules are trying to achieve and how they are going about it. This book will be helpful to any law student taking an introductory evidence course, trial practice simulation course, or litigation clinic, as well as to new litigators.
Black Letter Outline on Evidence by Christopher Mueller; Laird Kirkpatrick; Liesa Richter
ISBN: 9781647082284
Publication Date: 2020-12-14
This outline examines and explains for students the Federal Rules of Evidence, which apply in federal courts and have been adopted (with some variation) in 45 of the 50 states. Included are citations and descriptions of authoritative cases commonly studied in Evidence courses across the country, and analyses the most important issues of construction and application that have arisen in the decades since the Rules were enacted for use in federal courts in 1975. This Black Letter Outline is designed to help law students recognize, understand, and apply basic principles and issues of law covered in law school courses on the subject. It can be used as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject when studying for examinations. This Black Letter Outline was prepared by professors actively teaching Evidence law who are also accomplished authorities and authors of major texts, treatises, and coursebooks on Evidence law in use throughout the country.

Weinstein's Federal Evidence (Available on Lexis)
Publisher: Matthew Bender & Company, Inc.
Coverage: Through March 2024; Release No. 139
Comprehensive and authoritative, Weinstein's is cited in an average of half a dozen federal opinions every month, and was cited by the United States Supreme Court in most of its leading evidence decisions over the past decade. The new edition continues the Weinstein's Federal Evidence tradition of providing comprehensive and authoritative analysis of federal evidence law. This edition has improved on the original edition by making its information more accessible in both our electronic and print formats. Chapters are organized by rule number, and the discussion in each chapter is broken down into logical descriptive topical section headings to enable users to quickly find the specific information for which they are looking. The analytical text focuses on the current state of the law and includes footnotes organized by circuits (with brief descriptions of each case), while retaining information on the historical development of the law in historical appendices to each chapter. In addition to clearly setting forth the law, Weinstein's Federal Practice provides expert analysis and coverage of unsettled evidence issues.