Newspapers Research Guide

Online access to the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817), representing the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

Digital archives of hundreds of 19th Century U.S. newspapers.

Explore diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as English, Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, Technology, Arts, History and more to foster critical thinking skills. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local sources. Access World News Tutorial

A simple and convenient way to access Akron Beacon Journal in a digital format. Retrieve, view, print and save digitized images of the Akron Beacon Journal pages and articles.

Provides access to special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and trade magazines. Especially helpful for historical research into 18th and 19th Century America.

To access off campus connect via VPN. Instructions on how to do this can be found here . Please contact us if you experience any difficulties. Factiva Tutorial

Financial data including stock quotes, company comparisons, financial snapshots, SEC filings, interactive charting, and historical market information. Includes full-text Wall Street Journal (1979 - present), New York Times (1980 - present), Washington Post, Newsweek, Business Week, Forbes, and Fortune.

Full text archive of the New York Times. Covers from 1851 to present with a 5 year embargo.

A fully searchable resource for Latin American newspapers from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

Provides cover-to-cover full-text access to many U.S. and international newspapers. EBSCOHost Tutorial

A database of full text articles from regional business news sources covering all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States. EBSCOHost Tutorial