It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Internet Archive's purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections, and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
To make it easier for people to read about the history of American slavery, in the own words of those who went through this terrible ordeal. To create an open source collaboration that anyone in the world can access and contribute to.
We know that people read on a variety of devices today so we wanted to provide a great experience across desktop computers, tablets, and other mobile devices.
Plagiarism vs. Copyright Infringement: Do You Know the Difference? - See more at: http://inkthinkerblog.com/2007/05/08/plagiarism-vs-copyright-infringement-do-you-know-the-difference/#sthash.q09mQXkm.dpuf
Copyright holders have exclusive rights to create reproductions, to create derivative works, to distribute and to perform publicly. Once an item has been created in a “stable,” tangible form, then it is automatically copyrighted. Registering for copyright provides extra security and exclusion, but it is not required for an item to be copyrighted.
Patents are a documentation that secures for a term of years the exclusive right to make, use, or sell an invention.
Content that is in the public domain have intellectual property rights that have either expired or are inapplicable.
Open Access Explained
Once content has been created in a tangible form, it is automatically copyrighted under US law. Content creators may choose to "open" their content in order to provide others with permission before hand. If materials are listed as open, then they may be used freely without requesting permission or paying a fee. Many open access content has a license applied to it, which requires certain conditions in exchange for use of the content (ie. attribution, non-profit use).
Open content does not necessarily mean free content. The key point is that open materials are open for distribution.
BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
European digital library of written cultural heritage: The Manuscriptorium project is creating a virtual research environment providing access to all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents).
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Materials include digitized documents, digital texts, audio files, video files, and photographic images.
CATALAN: RACO (Revistes Catalanes amb Accés Obert) és un repositori cooperatiu des del que es poden consultar, en accés obert, els articles a text complet de revistes científiques, culturals i erudites catalanes.
The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
RECERCAT (Dipòsit de la Recerca de Catalunya) is a cooperative archive of digital document that includes the research literature of the universities and research institutions of Catalonia, such as heretofore unpublished articles (preprints), conference papers, research reports, working papers, final theses and technical reports.
Stable, long-term storage and ongoing maintenance for content contained within the repository. D-Scholarship@Pitt is based on Open Access principles; all materials in the repository are freely accessible to the global research community.