Social Work Research Guide

Key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.

Provides indexing and substantial abstracts for books, book chapters, scholarly journal articles, government reports, and dissertations related to the field of criminal justice.

Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Good resource to begin research in education.

Access to scholarly journals, education reports, and theses and dissertations on education topics. Good resource to supplement education research.

Searchable interface to select APA databases and publications (PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycEXTRA, & PsycTESTS).

Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related areas of study.

Provides comprehensive coverage in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Multi-disciplinary source for scholarly, popular, professional, and news publications. This is a good place to start many searches or to gather material from various disciplines at once.

A digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as literary journals, academic monographs, and a wide variety of primary sources including Historical Collections from UA

A primary resource covering current social issues that helps students discover, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, writing assignments, debates, and presentations. By providing both pro and con perspectives on many topics, this is an excellent starting point for building an argumentative essay.

Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently. ​

A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.

Leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

This expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) contains bibliographic citations from journals, books and dissertations covering economics-related literature in both economic theory and application.

Note: Use this link to access not only open access articles but University Library paid resources as well.

A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.

Includes access to Emcare database. Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education.

Index to full text journal articles in the medical disciplines.

Includes full-text resources and indexing for the U.S. Congress. Access Congressional hearings, committee reports, witness testimony, and other publications. Content also includes the Congressional Record and its predecessors, documents from the Congressional Research Service, and information about current and historic members of Congress.

Provides comprehensive legislative histories for federal laws. Each legislative history links to full text content that may include Congressional hearings, committee prints, and research reports related to legislative topics.

Includes scholarly law journals from around the world, and provides information on current issues, thoughts, and trends in the legal world.

Available on campus and off campus with a UANet ID. Ohio Acts and bills 1989 to current. Legislative history documents linked from each bill/act, some of which are not on the free web, Lexis or Westlaw.

Comprehensive resource for articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to present day. This primary source collection offers a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Content includes American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications.

Offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

Coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.

Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.