Since social work is an interdisciplinary field, searching various databases is advisable. This is a selected list of databases available at the UA Libraries. For a comprehensive list of database, visit the A-Z List of Databases.
A core resource covering all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
The UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. Includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey literature, reports, and journal articles. Updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.
This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
NARIC (National Rehabilitation Information Center) is a library and dissemination center funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR). NARIC’s three databases (REHABDATA, Program Database, Knowledgebase) contain more than 339,000 records in total. This includes the literature index, the database of NIDILRR-funded research projects, and the general Knowledgebase of disability and rehabilitation information resources. This collection includes annual and final reports, guides, manuals, conference and state of the science proceedings, dissertations, and more. Many of the items in this collection are unavailable elsewhere.
A primary resource covering current social issues that helps students discover, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, writing assignments, debates, and presentations. By providing both pro and con perspectives on many topics, this is an excellent starting point for building an argumentative essay.
Combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Contains full text from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
"The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 646,200 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 540,200 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format." -From SSRN
The IHS database, Best Practices, Promising Practices, and Local Efforts (BP/PP/LE), is an inventory of Best (i.e., Evidence-Based) Practices, Promising Practices, Local Efforts, Resources, and Policies occurring among American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities, schools, work sites, health centers/clinics, and hospitals.
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare.
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to present day. This primary source collection offers a window into African American history, culture, and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Content includes American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications.
Identifies materials on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos; it also includes the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, Central American immigrants. Includes or has links to full text.
Offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Provides comprehensive access to up-to-date legal content as well as daily business news and market information. Includes a legal citator, cases, statutes, news, commentary and analysis, federal docket searching, and transactional information. Accessible to UA users off-campus via VPN access.
This expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) contains bibliographic citations from journals, books and dissertations covering economics-related literature in both economic theory and application.
Includes full-text resources and indexing for the U.S. Congress. Access Congressional hearings, committee reports, witness testimony, and other publications. Content also includes the Congressional Record and its predecessors, documents from the Congressional Research Service, and information about current and historic members of Congress.
Provides comprehensive legislative histories for federal laws. Each legislative history links to full text content that may include Congressional hearings, committee prints, and research reports related to legislative topics.
This index is useful for discovering articles relating to public policy issues, including public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international conflict, and natural disasters. The content indexed includes scholarly journals, conference papers, and government documents.
Provides research and analysis concerning legislative activity of the United States Congress. The content can be browsed by year or by topic, and is supplemented with tables that analyze voting trends.
Online searchable, legal research collection includes Law Journal Library of U.S. and foreign titles providing comprehensive coverage, Congressional Record bound volumes, U.S. Reports, state statutes and session laws, legal classics, world famous trials, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and various, specialized collections.
Covers historical legal periodicals and law reviews from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage includes jurisdictional surveys, federal court case surveys, and annual institutes.
Retrospective digital collection of primary and secondary legal materials including federal and state official case reporters, U.S. Statutes at Large, and decisions of some federal agencies. Includes legal source materials from the U.K. and former Common law countries.
Available on campus and off campus with a UANet ID. Ohio Acts and bills 1989 to current. Legislative history documents linked from each bill/act, some of which are not on the free web, Lexis or Westlaw.