Note: Use this link to access not only open access articles but University Library paid resources as well.
A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
A rich collection of citation indexes representing the citation connections between scholarly research articles found in the most globally significant journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences and art & humanities.
Multi-disciplinary source for scholarly, popular, professional, and news publications. This is a good place to start many searches or to gather material from various disciplines at once.
Comprehensive resource for research in agriculture and allied disciplines.
The most comprehensive scholarly business database with a large percentage of full-text material from journals, conference proceedings, investment research, industry, market research, and country reports, SWOT analyses and more.
Comprehensive source for full text nursing and allied health journal literature.
Leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. Contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Access to scholarly journals, education reports, and theses and dissertations on education topics. Good resource to supplement education research.
Important: Access ends August 31st, 2025. Will still have access to over 80 other EBSCO databases. A full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels.
Journal of Dietetic Education: https://ecommons.udayton.edu/jde/
The Journal of Dietetic Education publishes rigorous studies and commentaries related to innovations and best practices in educating future and current dietitians.
The journal is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal.
On the article record of databases, look for these icons to direct you to the full-text availability. Check them all.
1. 
This is the scanned image of the article, including illustrations/graphs.
2. 
or 
These HTML articles tend to include more pages than the PDF versions. May include audio options.
3.
The Full Text Finder link will direct you to full-text options available from other UA licensed databases (e.g. OhioLINK’s Electronic Journal Center, EJC) or the publisher/database vendor's website.
4. 
This link usually means that the article is not available at UA. You can request the article via InterLibrary Loan (requires a one-time registration) services. InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a free document delivery system for UA students, faculty and staff. Items are delivered to your InterLibrary Loan account for downloading with 3-5 business days. To create an ILL account, go to ILL Services.
Example of article record in CINAHL database:
One definitive way to determine if a journal is peer-reviewed is when this is acknowledged in the journal itself. For example, frequently include instruction for authors will use the phrase "peer reviewed." Others will say that manuscripts are sent for blind review, reviewed by a committee, or anonymously reviewed. Therefore, it is worthwhile to visit the journal publisher's official website and review the journal's review process and journal description/scope.
There are other ways to identify a peer-reviewed journal. Below are some tools to help us identify whether a journal is peer-reviewed:
1) Ulrich's Periodicals Directory includes information about whether the journal is peer-reviewed (or refereed). The print (paper) edition of Ulrich's is found in the Bierce Library.
2) Research Databases: Some databases allow users to limit a search to peer-reviewed journals. For example, CINAHL allows users to limit a search to peer-reviewed journals and indicates that an article is peer reviewed in the Journal Subset field, when appropriate. Note: Scholarly articles is the umbrella term for academic articles. All peer-reviewed articles are scholarly/academic journals but not all scholarly/academic journals are peer-reviewed. Authors of peer-reviewed articles go to a more rigorous process of evaluation than when writing in non-peer reviewed journals.