Subject or Course Guides are a great place to go to find out about a subject.
ZipSearch is a good place to start. It searches several of our databases and catalogs simultaneously. Don't use ZipSearch for in-depth research.
Use the databases directly for in-depth research on a topic. If you know exactly what book, DVD, etc. that you want, use the UA Libraries Catalog directly.
*Images provided by Microsoft Clip Art
The library's most comprehensive search engine. It includes articles, books, journals, conference proceedings, streaming videos, book reviews, and more. Search over 100 databases simultaneously, including Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, and ScienceDirect. For more information, visit this ZipSearch guide.
Do you know where the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog. opens new window
Need a Specific Article that Can't be Downloaded and is not in our Library? Try
Online access to the international standards maintained by the American Society for Testing and Materials.
If you are looking for an article, try these databases first -
Database of scholarly, patent, and trade information about polymers (formerly Rapra Abstracts). Use to search for legal, business, and trade polymer information or to supplement a scholarly polymer search.
You could download it from My Akron too. Software downloads hyperlink is on the Technology Support tab. Follow the directions to download ChemDraw.
Many tutorials about using SciFinder-n can be found using the SciFinder library guide.
Using the Request through interlibrary loan hyperlink.
When you use the Full Text Finder button from one of our databases, the Request through interlibrary loan hyperlink could be the only one that appears. Some databases will have this hyperlink listed directly on the search results. In these cases, you don't have to select the Full Text Finder button first.
Either way, the form will partially fill out for you. Be sure to check the information is right – The more correct the information you give them, the faster you will get the article. After you select the hyperlink, you will need to log on using your UANet ID and password.
Getting your Article
Interlibrary loan will get the article for you if they can. If they can get a copy, you will get an email when your article is ready. If they can't get a copy, you will get an email letting you know as well.
Filling out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form
If you did not find your article from a database and we do not have it, fill out the interlibrary loan opens new window form. An example of how to fill out the About my item section when requesting an article is
Journal Title: *
Published Date:
Volume:
Issue/Number:
Page Numbers: *
Title of the article: *
Author of article:
ISSN:
OCLC#:
DOI:
Where did you learn about this item?