Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tools for Chemical Engineers 4200:101 - Library Assignment: Part 3: Web of Science

How to Access Web of Science

The best way to get to a specific database is to use the Databases by Title hyperlink.

What Can I Find in Web of Science?

Web of Science contains several databases

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) – 1965-present
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) – 1965–present
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) – 1975–present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) – 1990–present
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) – 1990–present
  • Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) – 2015–present

When searching for chemical literature, remove the checkmark from the checkbox for

  • Social Sciences Citation Index,
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities.

These databases do not contain full text articles, but the Full Text Finder button could lead you there.

Build Better Searches (video, 5 min.)

Learn how to use search operators, truncation, and proximity searching to build better searches in Web of Science. from Clarivate website. All important information is stated in the audio track as well as being visible.

Does the embedded video not appear? Try the video, Build Better Searches in Web of Science opens new window, on vidyard.com.

How to Filter Results in Web of Science (video, 1:25 min.)

Learn how to filter your results to get a more precise list of relevant articles. The transcript is available on YouTube for the video.

Note: Select 720p from settings button if possible.

Is the video not visible? Check your browser compatibility. opens new window If the browser is compatible, try the video, How to Filter Results in Web of Science, opens new window on YouTube.

Example of a Chemistry-related Search in Web of Science

Lets say you were interested in the manufacturing of xylene and toluene. You could try the following search string:

  • xylene AND toluene AND (produc OR manufact*)

This will seek xylene and toluene in the title, abstract, and other fields in the record for a document. Also, it will look for words that either begin with produc like produce, production, and produced or begin with maufact* like manufacture and manufacturing.

Web of Science Tutorials from the Database Producer

Very Useful Links