Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States Federal Law - Free Websites

Use free websites to find federal law.

Government Manual

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

Regulations.gov

Regulations.gov is an online source for U.S. government regulations from nearly 300 federal agencies.

  • Search for a regulation such as a proposed rule, final rule or Federal Register (FR) notice.
  • Submit a comment on a regulation or on another comment.
  • Submit an application, petition or adjudication document.
  • Sign up for e-mail alerts about a specific regulation.
  • Quickly access regulations that are popular, newly posted or closing soon-directly from the homepage.
  • Subscribe to RSS feeds by agency of newly posted FR notices.

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.

Library Database: Proquest Regulatory Insight

Additional Resources

Federal Register

Each day Federal agencies publish numerous documents (articles) in the Federal Register, including proposed rules, final rules, public notices, and Presidential actions. 

 "The daily Federal Register on GPO's Federal Digital System is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive order and other Presidential documents.  It is updated daily, usually by 6 a.m., and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.  The FederalRegister.gov website contains an unofficial version of the Federal Register known as Federal Register 2.0, which is presented in a unique web journal format.  Both GovInfo and Federal Register 2.0 contain Federal Register material from 1994 to the present." Source.

Unified Agenda

The Unified Agenda and Regulatory Plan provide uniform reporting of data on regulatory and deregulatory actions under development throughout the Federal government, covering over 60 departments, agencies, and commissions.

Reginfo.gov is produced by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA) and the General Services Administration (GSA), Regulatory Information Service Center (RISC).

Agency Regulation web sites

Another place to look for regulations is the federal agency web sites.Some of the agencies have links to their regulations and proposed regulations right on their web sites.Here are links to agency web sites:

GAO Federal Rules Database

The Government Accountability Office provides a report to the standing committees of jurisdiction of both Houses of Congress on major rules proposed by Federal agencies. Copies of these reports are available and can be obtained from this site. A database of information (but not the text) on major rules and on non-major rules for which a report has not been written is also available at this site.

Authentication

See Bluebook Rule 18.2.1(a)(i) for information on authenticated documents.