United States Federal Law - Free Websites

The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale Law School). Includes the text of documents starting with the Magna Carta, documents from the colonies, revolution and independence, the Constitutional Convention, through ratification and formation of the government.

The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

This collection includes: records of the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, Journals of Congress (House, Senate, and Maclay's), Debates of Congress, Statutes at Large, American State Papers, U.S. Serial Set, and related bills and resolutions through the 43rd Congress (1875).

The U.S. National Archives has scanned images of the original Constitution and the Bill of Rights (1789). View large images or download high-resolution images or just read the plain text transcript. The transcription is of the original version of the Constitution has hypertext links indicating those sections that have been amended or superseded.

includes side-by-side explanations of each sentence and how the meaning changed over time.

Provided by the Library of Congress, American Memory.
One of the great scholarly works of the early twentieth century was Max Farrand's The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787. Published in 1911, Farrand's work gathered the documentary records of the Constitutional Convention into four volumes--three of which are included in this online collection--containing the materials necessary to study the workings of the Constitutional Convention.

"The Federalist, commonly referred to as the Federalist Papers, is a series of 85 essays written by Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison between October 1787 and May 1788. The essays were published anonymously, under the pen name "Publius," in various New York state newspapers of the time." Source.

Through an agreement with the Library of Congress, the publisher William S. Hein & Co., Inc. has generously allowed the Law Library of Congress to offer free online access to historical U.S. legal materials from HeinOnline, including older U.S. Codes, United States Reports (Supreme Court opinions), CFR and Federal Register.

From the Library of Congress. This Website provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents. Coverage: 1763-1877.

The Library of Congress has links to historical documents from the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention and the text of the Constitution as originally adopted. This collection includes: Elliot's Debates, Farrand's Records, George Washington Papers, Thomas Jefferson Papers, and other documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention.