It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Documents of the LGBT Movement by Chuck StewartBeginning from the First People, through the influx of European settlers and the slave trade from Africa, to the modern era, this book presents and discusses documents that reflect pivotal moments in the LGBT rights movement in North America. * Provides a concise yet comprehensive review of the LGBTQ rights movement from the earliest days of human society in what would become the United States to the present * Highlights primary document resources that embrace and reflect the diversity found in the LGBTQ community * Documents how the Gay Rights Movement emerged within an era of widespread antigay persecution, when it would seem that an uprising to achieve equality be least likely
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2018-05-25
Gender Diversity and LGBTQ Inclusion in K-12 Schools by Sharon Verner Chappell; Karyl E. Ketchum; Lisa RichardsonThis exploration of effective practices to support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ) and gender-diverse students in elementary, middle, and high school contexts focuses on curriculum, pedagogy, and school environment. Narratives and artwork from the field are framed by sociocultural and critical theory as well as research-based elaboration on the issues discussed. Applications of antidiscrimination law and policy, as well as learning skills like creativity, collaboration, and critical thinking help teachers tackle some of the most significant educational challenges of our time. The stories of real-world practices offer encouragement for building inclusive environments and enhancing social-emotional relationships among youth, families, and schools. Gender Diversity and LGBTQ Inclusion in K-12 Schools provides a helpful roadmap for educators hoping to create safe and empowering spaces for LGBTQ and gender-diverse students and families.
Call Number: LC192.6 .C46 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
Improving Emotional and Behavioral Outcomes for LGBT Youth by Sylvia K. Fisher (Editor); Jeffrey M. Poirier (Editor); Gary M. Blau (Editor); Elizabeth Stroul (Contribution by)Despite growing social acceptance, many young people who are LGBT experience harassment and bullying, family rejection, and social stigmatization--putting them at high risk for depression and other mental health challenges. How should the mental health community best respond? Answers can be found in this book, which provides a road map to practices, interventions, and policies that will make a positive difference for LGBT youth and their families. Offering clear and practical information not available in any other volume, this book gives readers the research-based knowledge and recommended practices they need to work toward a stronger system of care and services and supports for LGBT youth and their families. Mental health administrators, policy makers, program developers, and school psychologists will discover 10 guiding principles of knowledgeable, sensitive, and responsive systems of care for LGBT youth deepen their understanding of the development and expression of sexual identity provide culturally and linguistically responsive services and supports (includes a helpful self-assessment checklist) develop interventions that foster resilience, increase assets and strengths, and mitigate risk factors reduce the incidence of suicide-related and self-harming behavior address the needs of LGBT youth who are homeless involve young people and families in the planning and implementation of services and supports successfully blend formal mental health services and natural supports provide effective support for LGBT youth and their families in schools and out-of-home care settings use social marketing as a tool to reduce discrimination and promote social inclusion This book equips readers with the very latest research findings, specific practice and policy recommendations, and reliable Internet resources to help professionals support young people who are LGBT and their families as they achieve positive mental health and become increasingly resilient. With this urgently needed guide to evidence-based, family-driven, youth-guided, and culturally and linguistically competent practices and policies, mental health and other professionals will advance systems of care that improve outcomes for LGBT youth and their families.
Call Number: RJ506.A33 I48 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-11
LGBTQ Voices in Education by Veronica Bloomfield; Marni E. FisherLGBTQ Voices in Education: Changing the Culture of Schooling addresses the ways in which teachers can meet the needs of LGBTQ students and improve the culture surrounding gender, sexuality, and identity issues in formal learning environments. Written by experts from a variety of backgrounds including educational foundations, leadership, cultural studies, literacy, criminology, theology, media assessment, and more, these chapters are designed to help educators find the inspiration and support they need to become allies and advocates of queer students, whose safety, well-being, and academic performance are regularly and often systemically threatened. Emphasizing socially just curricula, supportive school climates, and transformative educational practices, this innovative book is applicable to K-12, college-level, and graduate settings, and beyond.
Call Number: LC2575 .L53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Nonbinary Gender Identities by Charlie McNabbNonbinary gender identities are those that fall outside the traditional binary of "man" and "woman." These include genderfluid, androgynous, genderqueer, and a multitude of other identity terms, some of which overlap. Although there have always been people who identify outside the gender binary, only recently have they gained popular media attention. Despite some visibility, however, nonbinary gender identities are poorly understood by the general public. It is critically important for gender minorities to find themselves in the media that they consume. Just as important is the need for those outside the minority community to understand and appreciate them. Nonbinary gender identities are represented in books and other media, but these resources prove difficult to locate, as classification vocabulary doesn't evolve as quickly as community language. Reference sources identified include archives and special collections, theses and dissertations, key journals, and related organizations and associations. This timely resource--the first reference on nonbinary gender identities--offers an accessible entry into researching this topic. Written by a nonbinary scholar and librarian, this guide includes valuable appendixes that will aid every researcher and writer: a glossary of the rich vocabulary emerging from nonbinary communities; a guide to pronoun usage; a primer on sex, sexuality, and gender; and Library of Congress Classification information.
Call Number: HQ73 .M36 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-08
Transgender 101 by Nicholas M. TeichWritten by a social worker, popular educator, and member of the transgender community, this well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination. Chapters introduce transgenderism and its psychological, physical, and social processes. They describe the coming out process and its effect on family and friends, the relationship between sexual orientation, and gender and the differences between transsexualism and lesser-known types of transgenderism. The volume covers the characteristics of Gender Identity Disorder/Gender Dysphoria and the development of the transgender movement. Each chapter explains how transgender individuals handle their gender identity, how others view it within the context of non-transgender society, and how the transitioning of genders is made possible. Featuring men who become women, women who become men, and those who live in between and beyond traditional classifications, this book is written for students, professionals, friends, and family members.
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T45 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-13
Who Are You? by Brook Pessin-Whedbee; Naomi Bardoff (Illustrator)What do you like? How do you feel? Who are you? This brightly illustrated children's book provides a straightforward introduction to gender for anyone aged 5+. It presents clear and direct language for understanding and talking about how we experience gender: our bodies, our expression and our identity. An interactive three-layered wheel included in the book is a simple, yet powerful, tool to clearly demonstrate the difference between our body, how we express ourselves through our clothes and hobbies, and our gender identity. Ideal for use in the classroom or at home, a short page-by-page guide for adults at the back of the book further explains the key concepts and identifies useful discussion points. This is a one-of-a-kind resource for understanding and celebrating the gender diversity that surrounds us.
Call Number: HQ1075 .P47 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-21
Gender: Your Guide by Lee Airton"An invaluable resource for both new and veteran allies...obvious and necessary" (Library Journal, starred review) information for everyone who wants to learn more about how to navigate gender diversity in today's families, communities, and workplaces. The days of two genders--male, female; boy, girl; blue, pink--are over, if they ever existed at all. Gender is now a global conversation, and one that is constantly evolving. More people than ever before are openly living their lives as transgender men or women, and many transgender people are coming out as neither men nor women, instead living outside of the binary. Gender is changing, and this change is gaining momentum. We all want to do and say the right things in relation to gender diversity--whether at a job interview, at parent/teacher night, and around the table at family dinners. But where do we begin? From the differences among gender identity, gender expression, and sex, to the use of gender-neutral pronouns like singular they/them, to thinking about your own participation in gender, Gender: Your Guide serves as "a warm, inviting guide to a complicated area" (The Globe and Mail, Toronto). Professor and gender diversity advocate Lee Airton, PhD, explains how gender works in everyday life; how to use accurate terminology to refer to transgender, non-binary, and/or gender non-conforming individuals; and how to ask when you aren't sure what to do or say. It provides the information you need to talk confidently and compassionately about gender diversity, whether simply having a conversation or going to bat as an advocate. Just like gender itself, being gender-friendly is a process for all of us. As revolutionary a resource as Our Bodies, Ourselves, Gender: Your Guide is "greatly needed...an impactful tool for creating a world more supportive of people of all genders" (INTO! Magazine).
Call Number: HQ1075 .A3577 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-11
Search for Materials
Search the UA Libraries Catalog using any of these strategies to locate LGBTQ+ titles at Wayne College or other UA Libraries.
For fiction, add the subheading "juvenile fiction"
For nonfiction, add the subheading "juvenile literature"
For example, if you want to find children's fiction with characters dealing with gender issues you would perform a subject search for: