Skip to Main Content


Award Winners

A great place to locate something good to read is to look at lists of award-winning books.  Once you identify a title you would like to read, perform a title search in the UA Libraries Catalog.  If needed you can extend your search to the OhioLINK or SearchOhio catalogs.

The Stonewall Book Awards

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

The Lammys

The Lambda Literary Awards (the “Lammys”) identify and celebrate the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books of the year and affirm that LGBTQ stories are part of the literature of the world.


LGBTQ+ Book Lists

Search for Materials

Search the UA Libraries Catalog using any of these strategies to locate LGBTQ+ titles at Wayne College or other UA Libraries.

For fiction, add the subheading "juvenile fiction"

For nonfiction, add the subheading "juvenile literature"

For example, if you want to find children's fiction with characters dealing with gender issues you would perform a subject search for:

"gender identity -- juvenile fiction"

Subject headings:

  • Homosexuality 
  • Gays 
  • Lesbians 
  • Transgender children 
  • Gender identity
  • Transsexualism