Subject or Course Guides are a great place to go to find out about a subject.
ZipSearch is a good place to start. It searches several of our databases and catalogs simultaneously. Don't use ZipSearch for in-depth research.Good use – Find one article to review for a class project.
Use the databases directly for in-depth research on a topic. If you know exactly what book, DVD, etc. that you want, use the UA Libraries Catalog directly.
*Images provided by Microsoft Clip Art
Do you know where the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog. opens new window
Need a Specific Article that Can't be Downloaded and is not in our Library? Try
Use databases in the Finding Articles & Books page of this guide. Use the descriptions to find the databases that contain articles that are most closely related to your topic.Where should I start? Try
Using the Request through interlibrary loan hyperlink.
When you use the Full Text Finder button from one of our databases, the Request through interlibrary loan hyperlink could be the only one that appears. Some databases will have this hyperlink listed directly on the search results. In these cases, you don't have to select the Full Text Finder button first.
Either way, the form will partially fill out for you. Be sure to check the information is right – The more correct the information you give them, the faster you will get the article. After you select the hyperlink, you will need to log on using your UANet ID and password.
Getting your Article
Interlibrary loan will get the article for you if they can. If they can get a copy, you will get an email when your article is ready. If they can't get a copy, you will get an email letting you know as well.
Filling out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form
If you did not find your article from a database and we do not have it, fill out the interlibrary loan opens new window form. An example of how to fill out the About my item section when requesting an article is
Journal Title: *
Page Numbers: *
Title of the article: *
Author of article:
Where did you learn about this item?
There are modules in the Learning Repository:
To add any of these modules to your courses, select (Admin Tools) from the upper right and the Import/Export/Copy Components hyperlink.
Select Import Components and from Learning Object Repository. Search for and select the tutorial. If you always want the updated copy, create a dynamic link. You can lock to the specific version of the content if you want as well. If you want to make some changes, then copy it as content.
If you use it in your class, please let me know how it worked for you.Institutional Repository
Preserve your work and make it easier to find via Google by making it available on IdeaExchange@UAkron. opens new window Create a SelectedWorks page to promote your most important works. When posting work, always follow the publisher's guidelines.
Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server. opens new window You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session.
If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.
Some resources like SciFinder will require another user id and password, but most don't. Often when you are prompted by anything besides The University of Akron Login screen or the OhioLINK Authentication screen, either