Skip to main content

Computer Science: Keeping Current with Topics

Keeping Current on Your Topic – Table of Contents

About this Tutorial

Table of Contents Alerts

are a good way to keep current in your field of interest. Many publishers offer this service for free.

  • Using RSS feeds from the Publisher
    • usually don't need an account
    • copy the RSS URL into your favorite viewer
  • Using email from the Publisher
    • usually need to set up a free account
    • could contain hyperlinks to individual articles
    • could be a hyperlink to the entire new issue

Search Alerts

are a good way to keep current with literature on a topic particularly when involved in a long term project. Many of our database interfaces offer this option using RSS feeds or email when you have a free personal account

Not every article will be readily available for download when using the hyperlinks in your Table of Contents or Search Alerts. For more information, go to Finding Documents on this webpage. Not every database interface and publisher is represented on this webpage, but the idea is the same.

Table of Contents Alerts from Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

The digital library contains journals and conference proceedings from ACM and affiliated organizations. ACM publications are available full text.

A RSS feed or an email alert for a journal can be set up from any journal webpage. It requires a free personal account. First, login using the sign in hyperlink. For an RSS feed, select RSS. For an email alert, select the Get Alerts for this Journal button.

To delect multiple alerts, select My Account from the menu under your name in the navigation bar.

Table of Contents Alerts & Search Alerts from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

IEEE Xplore contains journals, books, standards, and conference proceedings from IEEE and journals from other sources including Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Create content and search alerts by selecting My Settings.

To find out what can be downloaded full text, select the What can I access? hyperlink. For more information when you can't download an article from IEEE Xplore, go to Finding Documents on this webpage.

Table of Contents Alerts

After signing in, multiple journals can be selected or deselected by selecting the appropriate textbox on the Content Alerts webpage.

Example: Selecting Content Alerts from IEEE Xplore

checkbox displayed IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Magazine RSS feed icon

checkbox displayed IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems RSS feed icon

End of example: Selecting Content Alerts from IEEE Xplore

RSS feeds can be found when browsing by journals or on a journal's homepage.

Search Alerts

It is easiest to create a search alert if you log into your personal account first. After you search, you can select the Set Search Alert hyperlink. Up to 15 searches are permitted.

New results will be delivered to the email account whenever there are new results. The alert can be disabled from the Alert webpage without deleting the saved search if you would like to run the search from IEEE Xplore manually.

Table of Contents Alerts from Publishers

ScienceDirect

contains Elsevier journals on many topics. ScienceDirect provides a RSS feed and an email alert for a journal. It can be set up using the journal's home page.

For a RSS feed, select RSS.

For an email alert, select sign in to set up journal alerts and you will be prompted for a username and password.

Wiley Online Library

contains Wiley journals on many topics as well. A RSS feed and an email alert for a journal can be set from the journal's home page.

For a RSS feed, select the RSS symbol.

For Get Contents Alerts (email alert), you will be prompted for a username and password.

SpringerLink

contains Springer journals on many topics. An email alert for a journal can be set from the journal's home page on SpringerLink.

Search Alerts from Common Search Interfaces

Not every article will be readily available for download. For more information, go to Finding Documents on this webpage.

EBSCO

is an interface for many library databases. A RSS feed or an email alert can be set up from the Search Results screen by selecting the Share dropdown menu. A permanent URL for this search can be selected as well.

Your work is not finished if you select the RSS feed hyperlink. Be sure to go to your RSS feed within the week or it will be deleted.

After selecting email alerts, you will be prompted to sign-in. The frequency that the search is run and your email is delivered, as well as some other criteria, is configurable.

Be aware that not all journals have current issues in EBSCO. Pay attention to the Bibliographic Records date. Does it say to present?

Google Scholar

allows users to sign up for search alerts. If you have a gmail address, you can use it, but it is not required. They will send to any email. The updates are sent to you each time new items are indexed in Google Scholar...usually a few times a week.

RSS Feeds for Other Publications

Finding Documents

When you are Off-Campus

If you are able to download articles on campus, you will need to use the proxy server when you are off-campus. Go to a definition of a proxy server. opens new window

The easiest way is to search the UA Libraries Catalog. A search in the UA Libraries Catalog will find paper subscriptions and subscriptions that we have in databases too. Sometimes we don't buy our subscription from the publisher.

If you can download articles from the publishers website on-campus, as a short cut, you could add the proxy prefix to the URL in your Table of Contents email yourself. You would add this string,

  • http://ezproxy.uakron.edu:2048x/login?url=

to the beginning of the URL.

If you received an error and it works on campus, Go to the Problem Reporting and Alternative Access for Electronic Resources: Report Problems library guide for help in finding the problem.

When you Can't Download the Article on Campus

Be sure to try the UA Libraries Catalog in case we don't purchase a subscription from the publisher. If so, we can't use their webs site. If the journal title is not in the UA Libraries Catalog, you will probably need to use:

When you need a Conference Paper or a Book

Try a keyword search using words in the conference title in the UA Libraries Catalog. If you can't find it in UA Libraries Catalog, try

On average, it will take 5 to 7 working days to arrive at UA. If you can't find it in the OhioLINK Library Catalog, try interlibrary loan.