LibGuides: Polymer Chemistry 9871:601: Getting Started

Principles of Polymerization, 4th ed.

Principles of Polymerization, 4th Edition by Odian
Very useful book on polymer chemistry.

Powerpoint Best Practices

Keep your slides simple. Remember that you are delivering a live performance - slides focus attention, but the information is coming from you.

Top Ten Slide Tips
Solid advice on PowerPoint presentations.
Tips for Practicing Presentations
Some good advice on practicing - most important is say it out loud.
Making Effective Presentations at Professional Conferences
Electronic book

How do I find Articles on a Topic?

If you are looking for an article, try these databases first -

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
You will need to register if you do not have an account. Contains references to patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, and articles, as well as chemical data (structures and properties) and reaction information.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The best curated scientific citation service – you can tell easily who cited an article in question within the Web of Science database. Also has good search capabilities for finding and analyzing an author's publications.
Polymer Library This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly, patent, and trade information about polymers (formerly Rapra Abstracts). Use to search for legal, business, and trade polymer information or to supplement a scholarly polymer search.

How do I Find a Specific Article?

Do you know where the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog. opens new window

For journals, use a title search (exact title) opens new window
For conferences, use a keyword search opens new window
Pay attention to the volumes and years that we have. For more assistance, please contact me.

Need a Specific Article that Can't be Downloaded and is not in our Library? Try

InterLibrary Loan
Use when you need a reference and you can't access it through UA Libraries, OhioLINK, or SearchOhio.

How do I find Books?

If you are searching for a specific book, try the catalogs in this list. If you don't find it from one catalog, try the next catalog in the list.

Sometimes it is convenient to search electronic books directly particularly when looking for quick facts or code syntax. Refer to the electronic book sources in this section or the previous section, Databases to Find Aritcles, Books and More. Use the descriptions to find the databases that contain electronic books that are most closely related to your topic. Keep in mind that not all books will be available for download. It depends on the database and the library's subscriptions.

UA Libraries Catalog
Search for materials owned by UA Libraries.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Over 800 essential reference books and databases from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies in 18 industrially important subject areas.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
EBooks, references works, and journals in the fields of science, medicine, engineering and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Interlibrary Loan
Use the Interlibrary Loan service to obtain books and articles that you need for your research that are not currently held by University Libraries.

How to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Finding E-Journals with Publication Finder
Lists electronic journals and conference proceedings that we subscribe. It lists some of our eBooks, but not all of them.