LibGuides: Background Information: Databases & Websites

Databases

The University of Akron Libraries have several research databases that specialize in coverage of "hot topics" and current events. These tools provide both introductory and comprehensive looks into a variety issues. They are especially useful as a tool to learn about different viewpoints surrounding your topic

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
A primary resource covering current social issues that helps students discover, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, writing assignments, debates, and presentations. By providing both pro and con perspectives on many topics, this is an excellent starting point for building an argumentative essay. Opposing Viewpoints tutorial
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Very Short Introductions Tutorial
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Contains full text from diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. EBSCOHost Tutorial
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full-text access to many U.S. and international newspapers. EBSCOHost Tutorial

Searching Websites

A simple Google search can yield an enormous number of results worthy of consideration for background information. Many will provide basic overviews of a topic or discuss popular opinion on a current issue. Look for these types of sources in your results list:

Organizations' (.org) websites will often give basic overviews of issues and causes they represent. Look for official organizations, and be careful of bias found on some sites.
Government agencies (.gov) websites can offer overviews of topics that they are involved in
Magazine and newspaper websites will generally provide some (or all) of their content for free
Some educational (.edu) sites, such as those sponsored by a college's department, will provide well-researched and documented information about an issue and may act as a directory to other quality sources

ProCon Website

ProCon.org is nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.