Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources (Wayne College): Maps

Library Databases Primary Source - Maps

Map Websites

16th- Early 20th Century Maps of Africa

Features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century.

American Memory Maps
Historical map collection from the Library of Congress.

David Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Collection was started nearly 20 years ago, and focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.

Historical Map Web Sites
Extensive list of links to historical map collections online. From the Perry-Castaneda Library.

Medieval Maps and Images (from the Internet Medieval Sourcebook)*
Large selection of map images.

Old Maps Online
Allows the user to search for online historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date.

Ohio Digital Maps
Ohio Digital Network primary sets from 1832-896  

World Digital Library: Maps
More than 300 map images, dating from 8000BC to 1949AD and representing at least 100 geographic areas.