Skip to main content

Faculty Resource Spotlight (Wayne College): Library Services for Faculty

Course and Assignment Support

Information Literacy Program

Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning. (ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, 2/2/15)

Information literacy is achieved through a College-wide concerted effort.  The Wayne College Library, Learning Support Services, Faculty, and Staff all share responsibility for developing, supporting, promoting, teaching, and assessing information literacy skills.  When students leave Wayne College they will have the basic foundation on which to build and enhance their information literacy skills as preparation for their continued lifelong learning.  See the Information Literacy Program (In General) guide for more information, including information on ACRL's Information Literacy Framework.

Information Literacy Modules

The librarians at Wayne College have developed online information literacy modules in the library’s Brightspace classroom.  Courses including research assignments should contact Maureen to find out how the modules may be incorporated into the course to ensure the students have the information skills to be successful with the assignments.  See the Information Literacy Modules guide for more details.  One tab is dedicated to information directed at students, and another tab focuses on information for Faculty.

Library Tours

You might be surprised to find how many of our students never step foot in the library.  The library staff are available to give your students a tour of our facilities and specific resources.  Breaking the ice for your students is the first step in having them become lifelong learners.

LibGuides (Research Guides)

The library’s LibGuides have been designed for specific assignments and high interest topics.  The guides include research advice and links to specific resources (recommended databases, bibliographies, instructional videos, and more!).  Work with the Wayne College librarians to develop guides for your assignments and help direct your students to the resources you want them to use. 

Subject guides of special interest to faculty members include the How-To Guides on “Academic E-books” and “Copyright.”

Go to Wayne College Library's Research Guide List to see available guides or contact Maureen to request to have a new one created for your assignment.

Assignment Consultation

Discuss your research assignments with the librarians to see if we can support your assignment with a research guide or perhaps offer additional ideas.  Let us help you make sure your students turn in assignments that are a pleasure to read and grade!

Library Lab

Twenty individual computer workstations as well as an instructor station with projector are available in the library lab (F-116).  This is an open lab most hours the library is open, but there may be library instruction sessions or workshops scheduled in this space.  A lab schedule is posted outside the door.  The lab may be reserved by faculty (contact Maureen for availability) for hands-on library research instruction.

Collections

Faculty Resources

Materials promoting faculty professional development topics are included in the library's periodicals, print books, and e-book collections.  Topics include technology in the classroom, assessment, mentoring, copyright, and more.

Reserves

Books, articles, audiovisual materials, and other supplemental course materials may be placed on reserve each semester. An electronic reserves service (ERES) is also available.  Reserve requests can be made in the library or by contacting Lisa Nagy. (lnagy@uakron.edu / x8950)

Textbooks on Reserve

Each semester the library purchases select textbooks for high-enrollment courses and makes them available to students through the Textbooks on Reserve (TOR) program.  These textbooks are to supplement the requirements of enrolling in courses, not replace the responsibility of students to purchase personal copies of textbooks.  Faculty are encouraged to donate a copy of the course textbook to the library.  *We do NOT collect every textbook. Please check with the library to see if your course’s textbook is on reserve before referring your students.

E-books

Many e-books are now available and accessible through the UA Libraries Catalog.  These e-books can be accessed 24 hours a day and can be viewed on a computer or tablet device, and some maybe be downloaded and checked out on an iPad.  Stop in for a demonstration! *Many e-books have restrictions on the number of users.

New Materials List

Discover the materials most recently purchased by the Library.  You will find newly added books, e-books, reference titles, audiovisual materials, and electronic journals added to the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Collection (EJC).  Lists are compiled monthly or bi-monthly, depending on the volume of purchases.  Visit the New Materials List guide regularly to stay current for materials of interest to you or your students.  Faculty remain the best promoter of library collections.  If you recommend specific materials to your students, they will be more likely to use the library and read!

Suggestions for Purchase

The library accepts purchase recommendations for the library’s collection that support the current Wayne College curriculum.  Forward your book suggestions to Maureen (mlerch@uakron.edu) and periodical and audiovisual suggestions to Lisa Nagy (lnagy@uakron.edu).  Please include as much information about the item as possible.

Library News

Visit the Library’s information blog.  This is the primary communication tool for the library.  We will post information about upcoming programs and events, service interruptions (database down-times), new resources of interest, and ideas for engaging students in the information literacy and library research process. 

Just Ask

Just Ask

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Get the Chat App:

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

Were we unavailable when you needed us?

Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you!  Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).

Other Guides for Faculty

The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library

Just ask the Info Squad at the University of Akron Wayne College Library

Start your search at UA Wayne College Library and Chat with us live!

Phone: 330.684.8789 

SMS Text: 330.551.5275

E-mail: waynelibrary@uakron.edu 

WebEx (by appointment): https://uakron.webex.com/join/waynelibrary

Wayne College Library Staff Contacts