LibGuides: Faculty Support Services: Resource Spotlight

Faculty Resources in the Collection

The library staff continuously collect materials on a variety of topics of interest to faculty. Topics range from broad issues in higher education, to assessment techniques, developing online classrooms, and classroom management ideas. In addition to the materials in this collection, our faculty have access to many more items that are available in the general Wayne College Library collection, University of Akron Libraries, or the OhioLINK Libraries Consortium.

Electronic Journals

Active Learning in Higher Education
An international, peer reviewed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal is devoted to all aspects of development, innovations and good practice in higher education teaching and learning, including the use of information and communication technologies and issues concerning the management of teaching and learning.
Assessment Update
Newsletter on developments in higher education assessment. Includes articles on advances in assessment theory and practice, evaluations of new and established approaches, information on innovative university and community college programs, information on state mandates for assessment and reviews.
Chronicle of Higher Education
News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops, classified employment advertising for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.
Contemporary Educational Technology
Focuses on theory, research, and development in the field of educational technology.
Innovative Higher Education
Presents fresh ideas in higher education in a straightforward and readable fashion. The journal features descriptions and evaluations of current innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action beyond the immediate context in higher education. It also focuses on the effect of such innovations on teaching and students.
New Directions for Teaching & Learning
Presents ideas and techniques for improving college teaching, based on the practical expertise of seasoned instructors and on the research findings of educational researchers.

Want to stay up to date with your favorite Electronic Journal Center (EJC) journals?

Create an account in the EJC
Search for the journal title
Select "Favorite Journal:"
- For users logged in to a My EJC account, you can mark journals as a favorites and find them easily by clicking on your login in the upper right hand corner to access your account options and choosing My Favorite Journals and Alerts from the account options dropdown. To add a journal as a favorite, click on Favorite Journal under Tools.
Select "Journal Alert"
- Would you prefer to get an email notification that your favorite journal has been updated? For users logged into a My EJC account, click on Journal Alert to receive email alerts that a new issue has been been added.

Resources on Academic Assessment

Assessing Student Learning by Linda Suskie
Many faculty and administrators today struggle with three underlying concepts which will be addressed explicitly and repeatedly throughout the book: (1) assessment is an integral part of the teaching/learning process rather than a stand-alone activity, (2) assessment is all about improving how we help students learn, not an end in itself, and (3) learning activities throughout the institution should be appropriately integrated. This Third Edition focuses on emerging needs and ideas in higher education assessment, including how to assess student learning in specific settings such as the classroom, general education curricula, undergraduate and graduate programs, co-curricular and student development programs, and online programs. Additionally chapters from the previous edition will be updated with new information on rubrics and integrating assessment information for the accreditation process. Since the publication of the Second Edition, many new assessment resources have emerged, including books, models, published instruments, technologies, and research. Assessing Student Learning, Third Edition will include these new tools and resources.
Assessment Essentials: planning, implementing, and improving assessment in higher education (Ebook) by Trudy W. Banta; Catherine A. Palomba
A comprehensive expansion to the essential higher education assessment text This second edition of Assessment Essentials updates the bestselling first edition, the go-to resource on outcomes assessment in higher education. In this thoroughly revised edition, you will find, in a familiar framework, nearly all new material, examples from more than 100 campuses, and indispensable descriptions of direct and indirect assessment methods that have helped to educate faculty, staff, and students about assessment. Outcomes assessment is of increasing importance in higher education, especially as new technologies and policy proposals spotlight performance-based success measures. Leading authorities Trudy Banta and Catherine Palomba draw on research, standards, and best practices to address the timeless and timeliest issues in higher education accountability. New topics include: Using electronic portfolios in assessment Rubrics and course-embedded assessment Assessment in student affairs Assessing institutional effectiveness As always, the step-by-step approach of Assessment Essentials will guide you through the process of developing an assessment program, from the research and planning phase to implementation and beyond, with more than 100 examples along the way. Assessment data are increasingly being used to guide everything from funding to hiring to curriculum decisions, and all faculty and staff will need to know how to use them effectively. Perfect for anyone new to the assessment process, as well as for the growing number of assessment professionals, this expanded edition of Assessment Essentials will be an essential resource on every college campus.
Assessment for Learning in Higher Education by Liz McDowell; Kay Sambell; Catherine Montgomery
The authors present practical, often small-scale and eminently do-able ideas that will make its introduction achievable. It provides practical case examples both for new lecturers and more experienced staff who may be interested in embedding AfL principles and practice into their university teaching. AfL approaches go beyond minor adaptations to teaching practice, and signify a shift in the foundations of thinking about assessment. With this in mind there is guidance on the development of effective learning environments and communities through the use of: collaboration and dialogue authentic assessment formative assessment peer and self assessment student development for the long term innovative approaches to effective feedback . It provides helpful, realistic guidance backed up by relevant theory and is written in an accessible, jargon-free style, grounded in practical experience and brought to life via a wide range of illustrative examples and case studies. Assessment for Learning in Higher Education fills a vital gap in assessment literature and as AfL is increasingly on the Higher Education agenda, with the promotion of assessment as a tool for learning, this book will become an essential handbook to guide all academic practitioners.
Classroom Assessment Techniques by Thomas A. Angelo; K. Patricia Cross
This essential handbook offers teachers at all levels how-to advise on classroom assessment, including: What classroom assessment entails and how it works; How to plan, implement, and analyze assessment projects; Twelve case studies that detail the real-life classroom experiences of teachers carrying out successful classroom assessment projects; Fifty classroom assessment techniques; Step-by-step procedures for administering the techniques; plus, practical advice on how to analyze your data.
Learning Assessment Techniques by Elizabeth F. Barkley
Learning Assessment Techniques provides 50 easy-to-implement active learning techniques that gauge student learning across academic disciplines and learning environments. Using Fink's Taxonomy of Significant Learning as its organizational framework, it embeds assessment within active learning activities. Each technique features: purpose and use, key learning goals, step-by-step implementation, online adaptation, analysis and reporting, concrete examples in both on-site and online environments, and key references--all in an easy-to-follow format. The book includes an all-new Learning Goals Inventory, as well as more than 35 customizable assessment rubrics, to help teachers determine significant learning goals and appropriate techniques.

Still looking for more? Perform keyword searches in the UA Libraries or OhioLINK Catalogs for: rubrics, academic assessment, formative assessment, summative assessment, grading, etc. Or use the following established Library of Congress Subject headings:

Academic achievement -- Testing
Educational evaluation
Educational tests and measurements
Grading and marking (Students)
Examinations -- Design and construction

Resources on Online, Blended, Hybrid, and Flipped Courses

Flipping the College Classroom by Patricia V. Roehling
ISBN: 9783319693910
Publication Date: 2017-11-27
Flipped learning--in which students view recorded lectures outside of the classroom and then utilize class time to develop a broad range of knowledge and skills--is a relatively new phenomenon. This timely volume examines and organizes the emerging research on flipped learning in higher education. It identifies the types of courses, material, and learning objectives that are most effectively flipped, with specialized advice for faculty in STEM fields, the social sciences, and humanities. The book also provides evidence-based guidance on how to create and disseminate engaging recorded lectures; develop and implement in-class exercises and projects that help students meet learning objectives; orient students to the flipped classroom; and assess the effectiveness of flipped learning.
Handbook of Research on Strategic Management of Interaction, Presence, and Participation in Online Courses by Lydia Kyei-Blankson (Editor); Joseph Blankson (Editor); Esther Ntuli (Editor); Cynthia Agyeman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781466695825
Publication Date: 2015-11-05
Online learning has become a prominent and inseparable component of higher education in recent years. Questions related to course structure, levels of interaction, presence, and participation within online courses persist and invite further inquiry for determining factors that encourage effective teaching and learning in online environments. The Handbook of Research on Strategic Management of Interaction, Presence, and Participation in Online Courses explores models of course development and delivery techniques to improve instruction, learning, and student satisfaction in online courses. Covering topics such as rates of participation, student engagement and retention, and social development, this handbook serves as a resource for educators in online learning environments, as well as for course designers and developers of online courses and researchers whose agenda includes examining interaction, presence, and participation in online courses.
The Online Teaching Survival Guide by Judith V. Boettcher; Rita-Marie Conrad
ISBN: 9781119147688
Publication Date: 2016-09-19
Essential reading for online instructors, updated to cover new and emerging issues and technologies The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses. Covering all aspects of online teaching, this book reviews the latest research in cognitive processing and related learning outcomes while retaining a focus on the practical. A simple framework of instructional strategies mapped across a four-phase timeline provides a concrete starting point for both new online teachers and experienced teachers designing or revamping an online course. Essential technologies are explored in their basic and expanded forms, and traditional pedagogy serves as the foundation for tips and practices customized for online learning.
Using Blended Learning by Khe Foon Hew; Wing Sum Cheung
ISBN: 9789812870889
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
This book discusses evidence-based practices related to the use of blended learning in both K-12 and higher education settings. It features evidence-based practices in relation to the following five learning goals: (a) Fostering students' attitude change toward country, (b) Helping students' solve ill-structured design task problems, (c) Improving students' critical thinking in assessing sources of information, (d) Improving students' narrative and argumentative writing abilities and (e) Enhancing students' knowledge retention and understanding. To achieve this aim, the authors draw upon their own research studies as well as some other relevant studies to reveal the pedagogical approaches, the specific instructional/learning activities, the technologies utilized and the overall framework for developing blended learning experiences.

Still looking for more? Perform keyword searches in the UA Libraries or OhioLINK Catalogs for: online teaching, online learning, online classrooms, blended learning, etc. Or use the following established Library of Congress Subject headings:

Distance education -- Evaluation
Web-based instruction
Education, Higher -- Computer-assisted instruction

Resources for Part-Time Faculty

The Adjunct Faculty Handbook by Bryan A. Booth (Editor); Lorri E. Cooper (Editor)
ISBN: 1412975190
Publication Date: 2010
The Adjunct Faculty Handbook provides a full range of academic leaders and adjunct faulty with a much-needed, practical resource to manage the work of adjunct faculty teaching. Since the publication of the first edition in 1996, the number of adjunct faculty members in colleges and universities has increased spectacularly, to the point that most colleges and universities could not function efficiently without them. The revised edition has been updated to address the dramatic changes in higher education that result from institutional dependence on adjunct faculty as well as the striking changes in higher education (such as the role of technology in teaching and learning, the increased emphasis on student evaluations and learning outcomes assessment, and changes in classroom dynamics) in which adjunct faculty must be proficient.
A Handbook for Adjunct/Part-Time Faculty and Teachers of Adults, by Donald William Grieve; Patricia Lesko (Editor)
ISBN: 0940017369
Publication Date: 2011
This resource helps adjuncts tackle the day-to-day problems associated with teaching part-time. From course planning to teaching adult students, this book offers practical suggestions, strategies and advice.
Quick Hits for Adjunct Faculty and Lecturers by Robin K. Morgan (Editor); Kimberly T. Olivares (Editor); Jon Becker (Editor); Barbara A. Bichelmeyer (Foreword by)
ISBN: 025301834X
Publication Date: 2015
Non-tenure-track lecturers and adjunct instructors face particular challenges at US colleges, including heavy teaching loads, lack of office space, little control over the selection of course topics or textbooks, and long commutes between jobs at two or more schools. Quick Hits for Adjunct Faculty and Lecturers contains short, practice-oriented articles by experienced instructors that offer valuable teaching and career tips for balancing competing demands, addressing student issues, managing classrooms, and enhancing professional development.

Still looking for more? Perform a subject search in the UA Libraries or OhioLINK Catalogs for:

College teachers, Part-time