Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Resource Spotlight (Wayne College): Library Services for Faculty

Course and Assignment Support

Information Literacy Program

Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning. (ACRL Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education, 2/2/15)

Information literacy is achieved through a College-wide concerted effort.  The Wayne College Library, Learning Support Services, Faculty, and Staff all share responsibility for developing, supporting, promoting, teaching, and assessing information literacy skills.  When students leave Wayne College they will have the basic foundation on which to build and enhance their information literacy skills as preparation for their continued lifelong learning.

Information Literacy Instruction is now online:

The University Libraries and Wayne College Library collaborate with educators like you to teach information literacy, research skills, and lifelong learning skills that students can transfer to other courses and apply beyond the University. Due to a number of reasons including the loss of personnel and the need to enhance our expertise in new areas, University Libraries and Wayne College Library will not be offering general library orientation/information literacy sessions. 

Our librarians have been developed a menu of Information Literacy content available to all of our faculty and students in Brightspace. These online lessons can be assigned in part or whole by course instructors, or enterprising students can self-enroll.  Students will earn a certificate of completion for each lesson following a brief assessment. The URLs give you direct access to enroll in the course. You can share these URLs with students in your courses.

We currently have the following courses available: 

Library 101: This brief course will give your students the very basics of library research, without diving too deeply into information literacy concepts when they simply need to get started finding sources right away.  This course teaches how to locate books, e-books, media, and electronic articles.  Students will begin to explore the UA Libraries Catalog and basic research databases.

Library 201: This course replaces  and enhances Wayne College's Information Literacy Modules.  It is strongly recommended that students in English Composition 112, Introduction to Public Speaking, Effective Oral Communication be required to complete this course in its entirety.  This may also be appropriate for many other general education courses and foundation courses in various disciplines.  See a full description of Library 201 with learning outcomes and instructions here.

Keeping Your References and Notes Organized: This course is designed for students who are embarking on a research project that would require a reference management tool, exploring EndNote Basic, Mendeley, and Zotero.

Plagiarism, Copyright & Citation Basics: This course explains copyright and how to cite sources to avoid plagiarism.  

Specialized Library Instruction

The online courses cover the basic information literacy foundation needed for most of our general education courses that require library research. Librarians will be scheduling a limited number of individualized instruction workshops for higher level research needs in upper division or specialized courses. In order to ensure the best library instruction session for your students, we require the following:

  • Students should complete the Library 201 course prior to the session.

  • Library instruction session must be requested at least 2 weeks in advance.

  • Assignments must be sent to the librarian instructor with the request.

  • Instructors must attend the session with students.

To request library instruction, complete this form and select  the "Wayne, Medina, or Lakewood Campuses" option, and include a copy of your assignment with your submission.

LibGuides (Research Guides)

The library’s LibGuides have been designed for specific assignments and high interest topics.  The guides include research advice and links to specific resources (recommended databases, bibliographies, instructional videos, and more!).  Work with the Wayne College librarians to develop guides for your assignments and help direct your students to the resources you want them to use. 

Subject guides of special interest to faculty members include the How-To Guides on “Academic E-books” and “Copyright.”

Go to Wayne College Library's Research Guide List to see available guides or contact Maureen to request to have a new one created for your assignment.

Assignment Consultation

Discuss your research assignments with the librarians to see if we can support your assignment with a research guide or perhaps offer additional ideas.  Let us help you make sure your students turn in assignments that are a pleasure to read and grade!

Library Lab

Twenty individual computer workstations as well as an instructor station with projector are available in the library lab (F-116).  This is an open lab most hours the library is open, but there may be library instruction sessions or workshops scheduled in this space.  A lab schedule is posted outside the door.  The lab may be reserved by faculty (contact Maureen for availability) for hands-on library research instruction.

Collections

Reserves

Books, articles, audiovisual materials, and other supplemental course materials may be placed on reserve each semester.  To discuss placing materials on reserve in the library, contact Tina Kilcullen (tkicul@uakron.edu)

Electronic reserves (ERES) are also available by request through the University of Akron Libraries.  

E-books

Many e-books are now available and accessible through the UA Libraries Catalog.  These e-books can be accessed 24 hours a day and can be viewed on a computer, tablet, or other smart devices, and some may be downloaded.  Keep in mind that many e-books have restrictions on the number of users.

New Materials List

Discover the materials most recently purchased by the Library.  You will find newly added books, e-books, reference titles, audiovisual materials, and electronic journals added to the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Collection (EJC).  Lists are compiled monthly or bi-monthly, depending on the volume of purchases.  Visit the New Materials List guide regularly to stay current for materials of interest to you or your students.  Faculty remain the best promoter of library collections.  If you recommend specific materials to your students, they will be more likely to use the library and read!

Suggestions for Purchase

The library accepts purchase recommendations for the library’s collection that support the current Wayne College curriculum.  Forward your suggestions to Maureen (mlerch@uakron.edu) and please include as much information about the item as possible.

Library News

Visit the Library’s information blog.  This is the primary communication tool for the library.  We will post information about upcoming programs and events, service interruptions (database down-times), new resources of interest, and ideas for engaging students in the information literacy and library research process. 

Just Ask

Just Ask

Chat with Us!

Chat service is available during normal hours of operation.

chat loading...

Get the Chat App:

Download the Ask a Librarian Mobile App on your mobile devices. Search for "UA Wayne College Library" to chat with us.

Were we unavailable when you needed us?

Did you need help from the UA Wayne College Library staff and we were either closed or unavailable? Sorry we missed you!  Please complete this form to let us know what you needed so we can improve our services (including hours of operation).

Other Guides for Faculty

The Info Squad @ UA Wayne College Library

Just ask the Info Squad at the University of Akron Wayne College Library

Start your search at UA Wayne College Library and Chat with us live!

Phone: 330.684.8789 

SMS Text: 330.551.5275

E-mail: waynelibrary@uakron.edu 

Wayne College Library Staff Contacts