University Libraries at The University of Akron is celebrating National Hispanic Heritage Month by highlighting select print books, streaming videos, eBooks, and streaming audio from our collections. In the spirit of acknowledging and celebrating inclusive stories, we invite you to learn about the lives and experiences of Hispanic authors, composers, characters, and historical figures by exploring the resources we've highlighted on this guide. If you're on campus during September and October please stop by and visit our display at Bierce Library.
National Hispanic Heritage Month recognizes the achievements and contributions of Hispanic American champions who have inspired others to achieve success. The observation began in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988. The theme for 2022 is "Unidos: Inclusivity for a Stronger Nation *
* from the National Archives
2022 Hispanic Heritage Month Poster by Irene Matos Chan
If you're on campus during September and October, please stop by and visit our National Hispanic Heritage Month display at Bierce Library. All Books on display are available for checkout according to current UL Circulation Policies.
Before Night Falls by 
Cecilia Valdés or el Angel Hill by 
Conversations with Isabel Allende by 
The Essential Neruda by 
Gabriela Mistral: Selected Poems by 
Hispanic / Latino Identity by 
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by 
The Infinite Plan by 
The Man Who Could Fly and Other Stories by 
Odes to Common Things by 
Portrait in Sepia by 
Reaching for the Stars by 
Translating Empire by
All UA University Libraries provide access to a variety of eBooks collections, including a streaming audio book collection. Below are links to select titles from these collections. University Libraries eBook collections are available for on-campus and remote use by current UA students, faculty, staff, and emeritus.
If you're off-campus you'll be prompted to enter your UAnet ID and password for access.
A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture by 
Encyclopedia of Cesar Chavez: the Farm Workers' Fight for Rights and Justice by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by
Films on Demand is a streaming video database of thousands of educational films, documentaries, and news programs. Films on Demand is available for on-campus and remote use by current UA students, faculty, staff and emeritus.
Below are links to several films available on Films on Demand. You'll need to login with your UAnet ID and password to view these films.
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of major and small label recordings in streaming audio format, covering all eras and sub-genres of classical music, as well as some jazz, world, and popular music. Naxos Music Library is available for on-campus and remote use by current UA students, faculty, staff, and emeritus.
You'll need to login with your UAnet ID and password to listen to these playlists.
