LibGuides: Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering: Find Chemical Literature

Searching by Topic, Author, or Keyword

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The best curated scientific citation service – you can tell easily who cited an article in question within the Web of Science database. Also has good search capabilities for finding and analyzing an author's publications.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
New users must register for a SciFinder-n account.
Chemical information primarily from Chemical Abstracts, CAS registry, and Medline. Excellent search tool for finding chemical information from journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Training for SciFinder-n is available from the vendor
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Over 800 essential reference books and databases from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies in 18 industrially important subject areas.

Chemical References

Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, 8th Edition (Ebook)
Physical and chemical data, unit conversion, topic reviews, and equations for chemical engineers.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The latest edition with more information than the print edition. Useful for looking of physical constants, mathematical tables, thermodynamic properties, and much more.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
Encyclopedic coverage of theory, methods, and applications of spectroscopy and spectrometry. Doesn't have collections of spectral data.
Polymer Handbook
Contains a broad array of information on polymers and their properties. An important polymer reference.

Search Using Structure

There are other databases that use structure search, but SciFinder connect the structure search to the chemical literature.

SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
New users must register for a SciFinder-n account.
Chemical information primarily from Chemical Abstracts, CAS registry, and Medline. Excellent search tool for finding chemical information from journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Training for SciFinder-n is available from the vendor

ACS Journals

ACS Publications
A proxied link to the ACS journal collection. You can use this link to get off campus access.
Journal of the American Chemical Society
Go straight to JACS.
Macromolecules
Go straight to Macromolecules.

How to Read a Journal Article

Royal Society of Chemistry; How to read a research article
This is an excellent 3 page guide on how to read and understand journal articles.

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Contains references to many electronic theses and dissertations worldwide, but not all are available freely.
EThOS
Contains many freely available dissertations from the United Kingdom. Provided by the British Library.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
Contains many open access theses and dissertations from European Countries.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Indexes many open access theses and dissertations worldwide.
UA Libraries Catalog
Search for materials owned by UA Libraries.
InterLibrary Loan
Use when you need a reference and you can't access it through UA Libraries, OhioLINK, or SearchOhio.

How do I find UA Thesis & Dissertations

Interested in theses or dissertations after 2004? Try the Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center. You can download them as PDF and browse them according to department if you wish. You can even search for a particular adviser.

Interested in theses or dissertations prior to 2005? Use the keyword search in the UA Libraries Catalog. You could try a chemical engineering and selecting the material type as Thesis/Dissertation (any format) opens new window

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
Masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member institutions.

UA Libraries Catalog
Search for materials owned by UA Libraries.