Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering: Getting Started

I want to know more about ...

How do I get ChemDraw?

You could download it from My Akron too. Software downloads hyperlink is on the Technology Support tab. Follow the directions to download ChemDraw.

Want to Access Electronic Resources Off-Campus?

Be sure to use the UA Libraries Catalog or Web site to use the proxy server. Go to a definition of a proxy server. opens new window You will be prompted for your UANet ID and password from The University of Akron Login screen. Most of the time you will be prompted one time per browser session.

If you go to the URL of the resource directly, you will bypass the proxy server.

Some resources like SciFinder will require another user id and password, but most don't. Often when you are prompted by anything besides The University of Akron Login screen or the OhioLINK Authentication screen, either

  • you did not go through or were somehow dropped by the proxy server or
  • we do not have access to the particular item, such as an article from a year of a journal that is not part of our subscription. Check the Publication Finder to verify dates that we subscribe.

Where do I Start?

Subject or Course Guides are a great place to go to find out about a subject.

ZipSearch is a good place to start. It searches several of our databases and catalogs simultaneously. Don't use ZipSearch for in-depth research.

thumbs upGood use – Find one article to review for a class project.

thumbs downPoor use – Perform a background search for your senior project.

Use the databases directly for in-depth research on a topic. If you know exactly what book, DVD, etc. that you want, use the UA Libraries Catalog directly.

*Images provided by Microsoft Clip Art

How do I find Articles on a Topic

If you are looking for an article, try these databases first .

How do I Find a Specific Article?

Do you know where the Article is (what journal, conference, volume, pages, etc)? Use the UA Libraries Catalog. opens new window

Need a Specific Article that Can't be Downloaded and is not in our Library? Try

How can I get Tutorials about SciFinder

Many tutorials about using SciFinder-n can be found using the SciFinder library guide.

How do I find Books?

If you are searching for a specific book, try the catalogs in this list. If you don't find it from one catalog, try the next catalog in the list.

  1. UA Libraries Catalog
  2. OhioLINK Catalog (button in UA Libraries Catalog)
  3. Search Ohio Catalog (button in OhioLINK Catalog)
  4. Interlibrary loan

Sometimes it is convenient to search electronic books directly particularly when looking for quick facts or code syntax. Refer to the electronic book sources in this section or the previous section, Databases to Find Aritcles, Books and More. Use the descriptions to find the databases that contain electronic books that are most closely related to your topic. Keep in mind that not all books will be available for download. It depends on the database and the library's subscriptions.

How to Find Technical Information using Knovel

Finding Patents

For more information, go to the Finding Patents Library Guide.

How do I get an Article from Interlibrary Loan?

When you use the Full Text Finder button from one of our databases, the Request through interlibrary loan hyperlink could be the only one that appears. Some databases will have this hyperlink listed directly on the search results. In these cases, you don't have to select the Full Text Finder button first.

Either way, the form will partially fill out for you. Be sure to check the information is right – The more correct the information you give them, the faster you will get the article. After you select the hyperlink, you will need to log on using your UANet ID and password.

Getting your Article

Interlibrary loan will get the article for you if they can. If they can get a copy, you will get an email when your article is ready. If they can't get a copy, you will get an email letting you know as well.

Filling out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form

If you did not find your article from a database and we do not have it, fill out the interlibrary loan opens new window form. An example of how to fill out the About my item section when requesting an article is

Journal Title: *

Journal of Nanoelectronics and Optoelectronics

Issue/Number:

3

Author of article:

Jungho Lee, Ji-Hong, Kim, Kang-Min Do, Byung-Moo Moon, Ji-Hoon Lee, Sang-Mo Koo

DOI:

10.1166/jno.2012.1304

Published Date:

2012

Page Numbers: *

260 - 264

ISSN:

1555130X

Where did you learn about this item?

 

Volume:

7

Title of the article: *

Nanocrystalline GaZnO films for transparent electrode to silicon carbide

OCLC#:

 

Subject Librarian

Tammy Stitz's picture
Tammy Stitz
Contact:
S&T Library, Rm. 135
330-972-6192
Website

Related Course Guides