Dance - Sophomore research project guide

• Use PDFs of pages to see photographs and illustrations.
• Explains the underlying principles associated with correct ballet, modern and ethnic dance movements to better understand the injuries described.
• Shows common errors and compensations.
• Describes different types of dance injuries according to the body region.
• Includes case reports, followed by the epidemiology and pathophysiology, history, physical examination findings, and imaging and diagnostic evaluation, Non-operative and surgical treatment options are described according to chronicity and stage of severity of the injury.
• Relevant studies are cited as often as possible.

This encyclopedia is full text and available online and addresses all areas of dance. It is scholarly, with signed articles and bibliographies. It does have some entries relevant to this assignment, most notably Dance Medicine, Kinesiology, and Body Therapies.  It does not have much else relevant, so may not be of significant use.

HINTS FOR USE:

• Start searching using a few words, not phrases
• Limited use
• If you search and find no results, it may give you suggestions.  These suggestions take you to other non-dance encyclopedias.  Go back a page and search again.
• Link to create citations - double check them, though!
• Links to "Find this resource" in bibliography work for articles, but not for books

HOW DO I GET FULL TEXT?

• The encyclopedia itself is already full text
• For articles in the bibliography:  click on "Find this resource"
  • if UA has it, it will link to the article
  • if not, click "request via InterLibrary Loan" (ILL) to request it
• For books in the bibliography:  the "Find this resource" button doesn't work; write down the title and look it up in the catalog

This encyclopedia is full text and available.  While it only has short entries specifically related to dance, many of the entries could relate to dancers' physical health.  Entries are signed, and a bibliography is available.

HINTS FOR USE:

• Start searching with a few words, not phrases
• Limited Use
• Can search Gale's range of reference products

HOW DO I GET FULL TEXT?

• The encyclopedia itself is already full text
• There are no links.  You must write down the citations for both books and articles and check in our catalog (see tab marked "How to get the full text of articles")