Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dance - Sophomore research project guide: ZipSearch

A guide to finding resources for the sophomore dance research project on a dance-related health topic.

Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Articles are not accessible through the UA Libraries Catalog. You must search specialized databases to find citations to articles on your topic. Use the list of specialized databases on this page to locate articles relevant to your topic.

ZipSearch is a platform that searches across most of the major databases.  You should be able to find enough resources for your project by just using ZipSearch. 

What Is ZipSearch?

ZipSearch
Limit Your Results

What Is ZipSearch?

ZipSearch is the place to start most research projects. It includes:

  • Journal articles
  • Books at UA
  • Books in OhioLINK
  • Book reviews
  • Newspaper articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Streaming video & audio

Because it includes so many resources, it can be helpful to limit your searching in ZipSearch to source types or library locations under the "Refine Results" section of the search results screen:

ZipSearch Result

If ZipSearch does not work for your research project, select a database by subject.

Some features of the UA Libraries Catalog make it the best place to search for some UA collections including:

  • Music scores
  • Streaming video & audio
  • Government documents

Hints for using ZipSearch for dance project

ZipSearch Hints for this project:

  • Contains most databases useful for this assignment
  • Use keywords, not phrases; start broad, can always narrow down
  • Click on "scholarly articles" in results to only get scholarly articles
  • Can limit further by date, language, etc.
  • Can save in folder - only for your session
  • Can get citation
  • Default is to only show articles that we have full access for; to get additional articles, uncheck the box marked "available in library collection"

How do I get the full text of the article I found?

  • If full text is available from UA:
    • there will be a PDF or HTML link by the article record OR
    • there will be a link to another database where the full text of the article may be accessed (Full Text FinderFull Text Finder )
  • If full text is not available from UA, there will be a link that says "request via interlibrary loan"; click on that, log in to interlibrary loan, and your request will already be populated. *most ILL articles arrive within 3-4 days*.

 

Using ZipSearch