LibGuides: Free and Low Cost Law School Casebooks and Teaching Resources: Library Ebooks

U Akron Library Catalog

Most ebooks purchased by University of Akron are findable via the online UA library catalog.

List of University Libraries' Ebook Databases. A few are listed below.

Proquest Ebook Central
Ohiolink Electronic Book Center
Cambridge Core Ebooks
Particularly useful for international and comparative law.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Ebooks

Study Aid Databases

You can assign your class a reading from a study aid, such as Examples and Explanations, Hornbooks, and Nutshells. Some study aids also contain multiple choice or sample essay exams and answers. Also, there is audio, video and interactive questions.

Simulation Exercises:

The Lexis Skills and Values (via Akron Law Digital) series provides simulation exercises for substantive law classes.
West Academic's Bridge to Practice series contains simulations for many law school classes.

Study Aid Databases

Akron Law Digital This link opens in a new window
Provides access to titles published by Lexis. Sign in with your University email address. Akron Law Digital includes Skills and Values series (simulation exercises), Questions and Answers and Understanding Series. Help Page
West Academic Study Aids Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Hornbooks, Nutshells, Acing series, Bridge to Practice Simulation Series. Includes audio, video and interactive multiple choice quizzes (Exam Pro - Objective titles).
University of Akron users do not need to create an account to access, but may want to create an account to save your highlights and notes, save favorites and see your recently viewed titles.
Instructions
Aspen Learning Library This link opens in a new window
Accessible to Law Students, Faculty and Staff only. Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library) contains study aids in Ebook form, including Emanuel Law Outlines, Examples and Explanations, Glannon Guides, Emanuel Crunchtime, Academic Success, Casenote Legal Briefs, Inside Series, Friedman’s Series and Jumpstart Series. Sign in with your “Library Card Number”, which is your UANet ID. If you do not have numbers in your UANet ID, the library will send you your library card.
Includes short videos on fundamental concepts of law and audio lectures.
CALI This link opens in a new window
Interactive online lessons on many topics plus podcasts.

Major Law Databases

Of course the major law databases: Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law contain books.

Lexis and Westlaw have permalinks near the top by the title of the section: