LibGuides: ZipSearch: Citing Sources in ZipSearch

Video Tutorial

ZipSearch provides and easy way to cite sources in a variety of formats. Since these citations are automatically generated and citation formats can change over time, it can be useful to double check the ZipSearch provided citation with our additional citation resources to make sure the citations are accurate.

Written Description

Instructions for finding a citation for resources in ZipSearch.

To get to the 'Cite' screen

Select the three vertical dots on the top right of the resource you are looking to cite (as you hover over the dots you should see 'Tools' appear).
Select 'Cite' from the dropdown.

To Copy Citation

In the 'Style:' dropdown select the citation method you are using.
Copy the citation and paste to desired location.

To Export Citation

Select the export citation tab.
Choose your preferred citation management tool (includes RIS file download, EasyBib, RefWorks, EndNote Web, NoodleTools).
Will vary based on citation tool.

Additional Citation Resources

Citation Machine
Free site that creates citations in a variety of citation styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
Purdue OWL
A great resource for learning to cite sources in a variety of styles with relevant examples.
APA Style Guide
Information on how to cite sources using APA style

ACS Style Guide to Scholarly Communication This link opens in a new window
Provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with instruction and advice on scholarly communication. The guide covers all instructions from previous editions of The ACS Style Guide - updated and modernized - as well as chapters covering preprints, Open Access, machine-readable data, and much more.
Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive style manual that provides recommendations for grammar and punctuation, as well as how to cite various resources, from books and journals, to electronic and web-based publications.
MLA Handbook 9th edition This link opens in a new window
A reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.

Guide on Reference Management Tools
Provides useful information about different reference management tools including EndNote Basic, Mendeley, and Zotero.