LibGuides: Study Aids for First Year Courses: Contracts

Contracts Study Aids

Key to Study Aid Icons

	Contains summaries of cases from casebooks.
	Contains outlines.
	Contains sample exam questions and answers.
	Recommended by ASP or a professor.

Hypotheticals

Darrow-Kleinhaus' Acing Contracts by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
Call Number: Law Study Aids

Publication Date: 2022

Uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve.
2022 Available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Contracts - Examples and Explanations by Brian A. Blum
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library

Publication Date: 2025

* Includes a section on exam skills with practice essays.
Questions & Answers: Contracts, 4th ed. by Scott Burnham
Call Number: Law Study Aids (Law Library)

Publication Date: 2025
Step-by-Step Guide to Contracts: Interactive Simulations by Sara J. Berman, Steven J. Bracci
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2025

Rule statements broken down by element and steps for applying facts to the elements.Short answer questions and answers, as well as sample essays and answers.

Hornbooks, Nutshells & Other Explanatory Texts

These books present the law in a text format with references to cases, statutes and secondary sources. Thompson West's Hornbook Series cover topics in great detail and is useful for obtaining a deeper understanding of a subject. Others, such as the Nutshell and the Concise Hornbook Series, cover key concepts with less detail, but are excellent for quick reference and review.

Hornbooks

Contracts - Hornbook by Joseph M. Perillo
Call Number: Law OASP

Publication Date: 2014 (updated by pocket parts)

Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Uniform Commercial Code by James J. White; Robert S. Summers
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2022 with updates

* Hornbook Series

Nutshells

Contracts in a Nutshell by Claude D. Rohwer; Anthony M. Skrocki
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2022
Uniform Commercial Code in a Nutshell, 8th by Bradford Stone; Kristen David Adams
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2023

Other

Principles of Contract Law by Robert Hillman
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2023
A Short and Happy Guide to Contracts by Bruce A. Markell; David G. Epstein; Lawrence Ponoroff
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2025
Understanding Contracts by Jeffrey Ferriell
Call Number: Law Study Aids

Publication Date: 2023-01-01

Case Briefs

Casenote Legal Briefs for Contracts
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library

Three different books, each one keyed to a different casebook: !. Barnett; 2. Farnsworth, Sanger, Cohen, Brooks, and 3. Garvin; Knapp, Crystal, and Prince.. Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion.
Contracts Cold Call Companion
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2024

animated case brief videos, written case brief, advice for prepping for class discussion,Test Yourself questions
Contracts Stories- an in-Depth Look at the Leading Contract Cases by Douglas G. Baird
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2006

In this appealing Stories offering, the editors are joined by other leading contracts scholars in taking the major cases in contract law -- from Britton v. Turner to Red Owl to Pro-CD to Baby M -- and putting them in their historical and cultural context.
High Court Case Summaries on Contracts, Keyed to Farnsworth
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2024

West Academic also has High Court Case Summaries keyed to Fuller, et al and Knapp et al.

Briefs for cases in the casebook plus memory graphics.

Aspen Learning Library database also has Highcourt case briefs for: Dawson, Fuller and Burton case books.

Contracts Outlines

Contracts: Black Letter Outline Series by Joseph Perillo
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2024

Comprehensive outlines, capsule summary of outline, practice examinations, examples and review questions.
Emanuel Crunchtime Contracts by Steven Emanuel
Call Number: Law Study Aids

Publication Date: 2017

* Includes flowcharts for analyzing issues, an outline of key concepts and an exam tips section.
* Contains sample multiple-choice, short answer and essay questions.
2017 edition on Aspen Learning Library
Emanuel Law Outline - Contracts
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library

Publication Date: 2023

* Outlines
* Sample multiple-choice and essay questions with explanations.
* Textbook correlation chart.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Contracts
Call Number: West Academic

Publication Date: 2021
Glannon Guide to Contracts by Theodore Silver
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library

Publication Date: 2024

Explanatory text, multiple-choice questions, explanations, analyses, and exam-taking tips.
Sum and Substance Quick Review on Contracts, 9th (ebook)
Publication Date: 2018

* Outlines
* Analysis guides and exam tips.
* Sample essay and multiple-choice questions.
* Includes a section of cases summaries.
(Online via West Academic Digital Study Aids)

Westlaw Practical Law

Contracts Resource Guide
This collection of resources includes practice notes, standard templates of various documents, checklists, and flowcharts.
Practical Law Course Study Collection - Contracts
A collection of Practical Law resources about topics that are commonly covered by Contracts law school courses, such as contract formation, interpreting terms, performance and nonperformance, etc.

Study Aids for First Year Courses

Flashcards

Audio Lectures

Video

CALI