LibGuides: Study Aids for First Year Courses: Criminal Law

Video

Criminal Law: In Other Words Video Series
Call Number: Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Online

Audio Lectures

Audio lectures from leading law professors are available for each first year class. The lectures are available on CD, with select classes available in MP3 format. These items are on reserve at the circulation desk and may be checked out for 3 days, two discs at a time.

Dressler's Sum and Substance Audio on Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2021
Law School Legends Audio on Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff
Call Number: West Academic
Criminal Law: In Other Words Audio Series
Call Number: Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Online
Office Hours on Criminal Law
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2020

Flashcards

Criminal Law : Law in a Flash
Call Number: LAW OASP
ISBN: 0735563977

Flashcards are available in the OASP office. They cover both black letter law and application.

Spaced Repetition
This is an online version of the Law-in-a-Flash Flashcards.

CALI

CALI This link opens in a new window
CALI currently offers 42 interactive exercises for first-year Criminal Law students.

Criminal Law Study Aids

Key to Study Aid Icons

	Contains summaries of cases from casebooks.
	Contains outlines.
	Contains sample exam questions and answers.
	Recommended by ASP or a professor.

Hypotheticals

Acing Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2020
Also in print in the ASP Library.
(Examples and Explanations) Criminal Law by Richard G. Singer; John Q. La Fond
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2022
Also on Aspen Learning Library fka Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids
Exam Pro Essay on Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2012
This title contains more than one hundred essay questions and model answers.
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Exam Pro Objective on Criminal Law by John M. Burkoff; Nancy M. Burkoff
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2022
This study aid contains more than 200 multiple-choice questions.
Questions and Answers - Criminal Law by Emily Marcus Levine; Paul Marcus
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2018
Each study guide contains over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, as well as a comprehensive "practice final exam" to help you prepare for course study and for your final exams.
Siegel's Criminal Law by Brian N. Siegel; Steven Chanenson; Lazar Emanuel
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2013
* Provides a guide to taking law school exams.
* Includes sample essay and multiple-choice questions with explanations.
Glannon Guide to Criminal Law by Laurie Levenson
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
Publication Date: 10/21/2021
Step-by-Step Guide to Criminal Law by Sara J. Berman, Steven J. Bracci
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2022
Rule statements broken down by element and steps for applying facts to the elements. Short answer questions and answers, as well as sample essays and answers.

Hornbooks, Nutshells & Other Explanatory Texts

These books present the law in a text format with references to cases, statutes and secondary sources. Thompson West's Hornbook Series cover topics in great detail and is useful for obtaining a deeper understanding of a subject. Others, such as the Nutshell and the Concise Hornbook Series, cover key concepts with less detail, but are excellent for quick reference and review.

Hornbooks

Criminal Law Hornbook by Wayne R. LaFave
Call Number: via West Academic Study Aids Online
Also at OASP and Reference - 2017 with updates.
White Collar Crime Hornbook by Ellen S. Podgor, et al.
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Online

Nutshells

Criminal Law in a Nutshell by Arnold H. Loewy
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2020
White Collar Crime in a Nutshell by Ellen Podger; Jerold Israel
Call Number: West Academic

Other

Inside Criminal Law by Burkoff
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2011
Narrative text, includes key terms, FAQs, sidebars, graphics and connections. Also on Aspen Learning Library fka Wolter Kluwer Online Study Aids
Mastering Criminal Law
Call Number: via LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2016
Mastering Criminal Law explores the basic principles useful in the study of criminal law, offering real world examples to understand these concepts.
Principles of Criminal Law, 3D by Wayne R. LaFave
Call Number: Online only
Publication Date: 2017
*Concise Hornbook Series
*On West Academic Digital Study Aids
A Short & Happy Guide to Criminal Law
Call Number: West Academic
Publication Date: 2020

Case Briefs

Casenote Legal Briefs for Criminal Law
via Aspen Learning Library fka Wolters-Kluwer Online Study Aids. Expert case studies, analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Three different books, each one keyed to a different case book: 1. Bonnie, Coughlin, Jeffries, and Low; 2. Dressler and Garvey: 3. Kaplan, Weisberg, and Binder.

Death Penalty Stories by John H. Blume; Jordan M. Steiker
Call Number: West Academic only
This title offers rich and detailed accounts of the most important capital cases in American law.
High Court Case Summaries - Criminal Law - Keyed to Kaplan
Call Number: West Academic Only
This product contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in Kaplan's casebook on criminal law. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
High Court Case Summaries - Criminal Law - Keyed to LaFave
Call Number: West Academic Only
This title contains well-prepared briefs for each major case in LaFave's casebook on Criminal Law.

There are also High Court Case Summaries keyed to Dressler and to Kadish - both of these are on West Academic Digital Study Aids.

Criminal Law Outlines

(Black Letter Outlines) Criminal Law by Joshua Dressler
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2015
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
(Black Letter Outline) Criminal Law by Peter W. Low
Call Number: West Academic Only
Publication Date: 2019
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination.
Criminal Law Crunchtime 6th edition by Steven Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
Publication Date: 2022
Flowcharts -- Capsule summary -- Exam tips -- Short-answer questions -- Answers to short-answer questions -- Multiple-choice questions -- Answers to multiple-choice questions -- Essay exam questions & answers.
Print copy available in OASP.
(Emanuel Outline) Criminal Law
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2015
* Outlines, sample multiple-choice and essay questions with explanations, exam tips
* Includes textbook correlation chart.
Also on Aspen Learning Library fka Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids
Gilbert Law Summaries on Criminal Law by George E. Dix
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2016
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Glannon Guide to Criminal Law by Laurie L. Levenson
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2018
* Presents criminal law by explaining concepts, which are immediately followed by multiple choice questions and analysis.
2021 edition on Aspen Learning Library fka Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Law by Steven L. Emanuel
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library (fka Wolters Kluwer Study Aid Library)
Publication Date: 09/20/2021

Law School and UBE

Law School and UBE Criminal Law and Procedure primer
OASP
2017
Concise focused coverage of criminal law & procedure, acronyms-mnemonics memory aids, question maps cross-reference text to questions, over 200 multiple-choice questions with full answers, essay questions with grading guides and answers, Magic Memory outline.