LibGuides: International Patent Law Research Guide: Patent Search

Video: How to Search for Patents in Espacenet

With Espacenet you can search titles of over 50 million patents from 71 countries. The video below shows how to search for patents using Espacenet.

African Regional Intellectual Property Organization
ARIPO Online Service - Quick Search.
Espacenet - European Patent Office
Search titles of over 50 million patents from 71 countries. Full text PDF of US utility patents 1836-Present. Also see Espacenet Classification Search and Espacenet Online Tutorials. (EPO 39 member states.)
Latipat Espacenet
A free and public access point with Espacenet technology for the search of technical information in Spanish and Portuguese in patent documents of Latin American countries and Spain.
Patent Office of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf
Patentscope
WIPO (world intellectual property organisation). The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
Register of Eurasian Patents
Eurasian patent system provides a uniform application procedure for physical and legal persons to protect their inventions on the basis of a single Eurasian patent valid in the territory of nine States party to the Eurasian Patent Convention (EAPC): Turkmenistan, Republic of Belarus, Republic of Tajikistan, Russian Federation, Republic of Kazakhstan, Republic of Azerbaijan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Moldova, Republic of Armenia.

Free Patents Online
Issued patents and published patent applications from the USPTO, WIP, EPO, Japanese Abstracts, German Patents Beta and non-patent literature
Google Patents
Issued patents and published patent applications from the USPTO, EPO and WIPO and non-patent literature
Patent Lens - Patent Search
By Patent Lens, a free public resource for patent system navigation worldwide. includes instructions defintiions, and examples

Commercial databases offer easier searching with more whistles and bells than the freely available databases.

Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Available on campus and off campus with a UANet ID. An index of worldwide patent and citation information for inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Contains abstracts of patents with possible links to cited and citing patents, and cited articles. 1963-current.
Derwent makes searching easier because you can search by codes created by Derwent. You can search by Class Code( Subject of the patent, such as automotive electronics, or nuclear reactors and simulators); Manual Codes (indicates the novel technical aspects of an invention, and also its applications.) and patent assignee codes to standardize company names, which will pull up patents for subsidiaries and related companies.
Derwent is owned by Thomson Innovation.

Westlaw - Patents and Applications
Contains United States Patents and Applications, PCT Patent Applications, Asia Pacific Patents and Applications, Europe Patents and Applications.
Note that you can Keycite a patent in Westlaw
Total Patent One (Lexis)
Search for patents from many different countries and authorities.
Lexis Advance - Patent Registrations
Contains patents and applications for the U.S. Europe (European Patent Office), Patent Abstracts of Japan, Patent Cooperation Treaty Patent Applications, United Kingdom Patent Applications.
Powered by TotalPatent One.

You can Shepardize a patent in Lexis to discover related patents, litigation, etc. In the big box, type - shep: patno 6553350 (but type whatever patent number you are interested in )
Bierce Library Guide - Finding Patents
Links to subject databases that contain patents in their results, such as Reaxys, SciFinder Scholar, and Polymer Library.

There are other very sophisticated databases that the law school does not subscribe to, such as:

Minesoft Patbase
Questel
STN
STN provides an information advantage. Only STN offers access to the world's scientific information on one integrated platform, including the authoritative chemistry content from CAS and patent content from Thomson Reuters' Derwent World Patents Index®

You will want to search by CLASSIFICATION in order to get more results than a keyword search, and for increased accuracy.

Classification Systems: