It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education Topics Involving Different Cultures or Diverse Populations
Education research often requires research and understanding of different cultures. Education research with respect to different cultures comes in many different areas. You may want to understand how U.S. cultural norms impact the learning of students from a different country. Maybe you are interested in classroom management techniques all around the world. Perhaps you are trying to understand family roles in education around the world. The possibilities are truly endless.
The interdisciplinary nature of education often times can push you into "non-education" resources to find your answer. The list below includes education databases but also resources from other subject areas such as sociology, anthropology, and religion. These "non-education" resources may help you answer education research questions that have cultural elements. Certainly you may also find good content in an education branded resource.
I suggest you start with the big three education databases.
Education Research Complete contains both full-text and citation level articles from scholarly research in education. This database covers all areas of education in general. Content includes over 1,300 full text journals, 500 full text books, and other resources.
Education Full Text contains both full-text and citation level articles from scholarly research in education. This database boasts its coverage in special education and testing but also covers general areas of education. Content includes over 500 full text journals and other resources.
ERIC (Education Research Information Center) contains over 1.6 million resources including journals, government reports, dissertations, and other resources that cover all areas of education. This is a great resource to use if you haven’t found what you need in Education Research Complete or Education Full Text. However, make sure to understand your topic and do some planning before diving in. ERIC can get overwhelming with the large amount of content it contains.
The following are those "non-education" databases that can be very useful when researching cultural topics.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary resource for all types of materials including scholarly articles. In general, this resource can be a great starting place for many searches as it covers many different areas.
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard's Anthropological Literature. The World's largest source of anthropological, archaeological, and related interdisciplinary research.
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.