LibGuides: Study Aids for First Year Courses: Home

Study Aids for First Year Courses

Look at the tabs of this guide for study aids (print and online) pertaining to a certain course. This home page contains information about:

Study Aids Databases:

Aspen Learning Library fka Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library (link to database) (Information Below)
West Academic Online Study Aids (link to database) (Information Below)
Spaced Repetition - Online Law-in-a-Flash Flashcards. (Information Below)

Akron Law Past Exams Online

CALI - Online interactive lessons

Barbri Outlines for 1L Classes

Books and Websites on First Year Success

Spaced Repetition

Spaced Repetition
Online Emanuel Law in a Flash flashcards for quizzing yourself on black letter law and reviewing hypotheticals. Sign up here, scroll down to "Subscribed School Membership" and click on that. A form will appear. Sign up. with your U Akron email address.
- Includes Administrative Law, Civil Procedure, Constitutional law, Contracts, Corporations, Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Environmental Law, Evidence, Federal Income Tax, Professional Responsibility, Property, Secured Transactions, Torts, Wills & Trusts.
- PLUS make your own flashcards and see cards made by others.
- How to set up as an Iphone App. On Android, pull up Spaced Repetition on Google, and use the 3 lines at the bottom to add Spaced Repetition to your Google Go Home Screen.
- Want a daily email reminder? Go to Settings and tick the box.
- Take a SeRious (Spaced Repetition) Tour

MORE instructions

Sample Exams

Sample University of Akron Law School Exams are available online through Brightspace.

Log on to Brightspace using your UANet ID and Password and go to the "Law School Resources" course. Follow the link in the sidebar to "Law School Sample Exams." Exams are arranged alphabetically by course and are broken down by professor. The exams are available in PDF format and may be viewed online or printed for later use.

CALI

The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction
CALI has hundreds of interactive lessons on legal topics. Also, CALI currently offers 11 lectures and interactive exercises on basic law school skills, including exam taking, outlining and case briefing.

To access the complete
list of tutorials visit www.cali.org

The authorization code is contained in your Law School Orientation Brightspace page, under library materials. Or, ask one of the library staff.

West Academic Study Aids Online

Access more than 470 study aids via West Academic Study Aids.

The subscription also includes the High Court Case Summaries Series, which include case briefs keyed to specific casebooks.

Also contains audio files for Law School Legends and Sum and Substance Audio Series! Listen offline using the mobile app.

NEW - interactive multiple choice quizzes on Exam Pro - Objective titles.

West Academic Study Aids Online This link opens in a new window
Available to Law students, faculty and staff only. 24/7 access to more than 470 study aids in ebook format. Includes Gilbert Law Summaries, Sum and Substance titles, Black Letter Outlines and High Court Case Summaries. Includes audio, video and interactive multiple choice quizzes.
University of Akron users do not need to create an account to access, but may want to create an account to save your highlights and notes, save favorites and see your recently viewed titles.
Instructions

Database Instruction Page
for how-tos.

Aspen Learning Library fka Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids

To access (both on and off campus):

Go to https://login.ezproxy.uakron.edu:2443/login?url=https://aspenlearninglibrary.com/
If you are off campus, you can access this through the VPN or enter your UANet Id and password to access.

The Aspen Learning Library contains popular study aids in ebook format, including Examples & Explanations, Emanuel Law Outlines, Glannon Guides, Emanuel CrunchTime, Academic Success, Casenote Legal Briefs, Inside Series, Friedman’s Series, Jumpstart Series.

Also includes video and audio study aids for certain subjects.

Access and download books via Android, Apple, Mac or PC App. You can download the app of your choice here.

Find each app user guide here.