LibGuides: Study Aids for First Year Courses: Property

Property Study Aids

Study Aids for Estates, Future Interests and the Rule Against Perpetuities

Property, generally:

Key to Study Aid Icons

	Contains summaries of cases from casebooks.
	Contains outlines.
	Contains sample exam questions and answers.
	Recommended by ASP or a professor.

Hypotheticals

Acing Property by Colleen E. Medill
Call Number: OASP
Publication Date: 2022
This study aid uses outline-like checklists that are designed to lead students through the analytical steps necessary to evaluate and resolve property issues. Each chapter concludes with practice problems and solutions that illustrate how students can use the checklist to analyze property issues when writing their exams.
2022 edition available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Examples and Explanations for Property by Barlow Burke; Joseph Snoe
Call Number: Law Study Aids
Publication Date: 2023-05-17
2023 ed. on Aspen Learning Library online
(Exam Pro Objective) Property by Peter T. Wendel
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids
* Contains multiple-choice questions with analysis.
Questions and Answers - Property by John Copeland Nagle
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2014
Each study guide contains over 150 multiple-choice and short-answer questions, as well as a comprehensive "practice final exam" to help you prepare for course study and for your final exams.
Siegel's Property by Brian N. Siegel; Lazar Emanuel
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2014
* Provides a guide to taking law school exams.
* Includes sample essay and multiple choice questions with explanations.

(Rigo's) Law School and UBE Property Primer
OASP
2017
Concise focused coverage of property, acronyms-mnemonics memory aids, question maps cross-reference text to questions, over 200 multiple-choice questions with full answers, essay questions with grading guides and answers, Magic Memory outline.

Hornbooks, Nutshells and Other Narrative Text

These books present the law in a text format with references to cases, statutes and secondary sources. Thompson West's Hornbook Series cover topics in great detail and is useful for obtaining a deeper understanding of a subject. Others, such as the Nutshell and the Concise Hornbook Series, cover key concepts with less detail, but are excellent for quick reference and review.

Hornbooks

The Law of Property (Hornbook) by Herbert Hovenkamp; Sheldon F. Kurtz; Thomas P. Gallanis
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2014
Each chapter begins with an overview of rules and concepts, followed by a series of problems and exercises designed to demonstrate how the rules and concepts apply in real situations. Each problem is followed by a comprehensive analysis of the legal issues raised, including citations of the relevant cases and statutes.
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
The Law of Property (hornbook) by Whitman, et al.
Call Number: KF570 .C86 2019 (Reference)
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
Moynihan's Introduction to the Law of Real Property (Hornbook) by Sheldon F. Kurtz
Call Number: Treatises KF570.M6 2011
Publication Date: 2011
* Hornbook Series
Updated by pocket parts
Also available via West Academic Digital Study Aids

Nutshells

Landlord and Tenant Law in a Nutshell
Call Number: via West Academic study aids
Real Property in a Nutshell, 7th ed. by Roger Bernhardt; Ann Burkhart
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Online
Personal Property in a Nutshell by D. Barlow Burke
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Online

Case Briefs

Casenote Legal Briefs for Property
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
Expert case studies and analyses and quicknote definitions of legal terms help you prepare for class discussion. Three different books, each one keyed to a different case book: 1. Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander, Schill, and Strahilevitz; 2. Rabin, Kwall, Kwall, and Arnold and 3. Singer, Berger, Davidson, and Penalver
High Court Case Summaries, Property (Keyed to Dukeminier)
Call Number: West Academic Online Study Aids
* Also contains AUDIO
* There is also one available keyed to the Cribbet case book.
Property Stories
Call Number: West Academic Online Study Aids
This title provides the law student with an enriched understanding of 12 leading property cases. It focuses on how lawyers, judges, and policy factors shaped the litigation, and why the cases have attained noteworthy status.

Other

(Concepts & Insights Series) The Law of Property
Call Number: West Academic Digital Study Aids
Inside Property Law by Makdisi; Daniel B. Bogart
Publication Date: 2012
Narrative text, includes key terms, FAQs, sidebars, graphics and connections.
Principles of Property Law Concise Hornbook by Herbert Hovenkamp; Shelley Kurtz
Call Number: West Academic Study Aids Online
Also in print at the ASP Library
A Short and Happy Guide to Property
Call Number: West Academic Online Study Aids
Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Property Law by John Sprankling
Call Number: Law Study Aids
Publication Date: 2022-12-05

Outlines for Property

* This guide contains a separate section for materials that focus specifically on Estates, Future Interests and the Rule Against Perpetuities.

Bernhardt and Burkhart's Black Letter Outline on Property
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2009
Outlines, capsule summary, review questions.
Available via West Academic Digital Study Aids
(Emanuel Crunchtime) Property
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2017
* for exam preparation.
* Includes flow charts for analyzing issues and an outline of key concepts.
* Includes an exam tips section, with sample multiple-choice, short answer and essay questions.
Also on Aspen Learning Library
Emanuel Law Outlines - Property keyed to Dukeminier/Krier/Alexander/Schill, seventh edition
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2010
* Designed for use with Dukeminier's Property, 7th Ed. casebook.
* Outlines,sample multiple-choice and essay questions with explanations, exam tips
* Includes textbook correlation chart
Also on Aspen Learning Library
(Emanuel Law Outlines) Property
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2017
* Outlines, sample multiple-choice and essay questions with explanations, exam tips.
* Includes textbook correlation chart.
2023 ed. on Aspen Learning Library
Gilbert Law Summary on Property
Call Number: West AcademicOnline Study Aids
Comprehensive outline on Property, including expert explanations of applicable law and practice exam questions.
The Glannon Guide to Property, Fifth Ed. by James Charles Smith
Call Number: Aspen Learning Library
Publication Date: 2022
* Presents the law of property by explaining concepts, which are immediately followed by multiple choice questions and analysis.
Fourth Edition available in print at OASP
Property (Sum and Substance Quick Review) by Julian Conrad Juergensmeyer
Call Number: LAW OASP
Publication Date: 2011
Also online via West Academic Study Aids

Study Aids for Estates, Future Interests and the Rule Against Perpetuities

These materials focus specifically on Estates, Future Interests and the Rule Against Perpetuities. Each guide contains explanations and practice problems.